A thank you…

“Find out who you are and do it on purpose.” – Dolly Parton

I love this quote and I’ve been thinking about this idea a lot lately.  Who am I really?   I’m a follower of Christ.  I am a wife and mother.  I am a friend.  I am a minister.  I am a lover of food and cooking.  I am a reader.  I am a lot of things.

Apparently I’m also someone who makes people uncomfortable.  After my post on May 2nd regarding the reaction to Osama Bin Laden’s death, I’ve noticed a drop in the number of people who read the blog.   Some people didn’t like what I posted that day and I am okay with that.

To those of you who remain, I am grateful.  Those who have left may be gone but perhaps they didn’t know who I was in the first place.   I’m one person trying to follow Christ in this world.  One person trying to live as Jesus would live.  I think as people we need to reflect on how Jesus reacted to the world around him and try to live that way.  I don’t always succeed but I’m trying.

When I look at Jesus I see a man who loved people.  Who wanted to show God to the world.  Who lived, loved, and laughed with people who needed him.  They needed someone to be there, someone to notice.  Jesus noticed people.

I want to be like that.  I want to notice.  So this is me noticing.  I’m noticing that people left yes, but most of all I’m noticing those of you who read me still. Thanks for sticking with me.  I appreciate it.

This blog is part of my journey in ministry.  As I journey with God, and with you I hope there will be many times we converse with and challenge each other along the way.   Thanks for sticking with me.

16 responses to “A thank you…

  1. Thank you, too, Becky. It is good to be part of this journey – recipes and musings and all.

  2. I’m not going anywhere. Your blog is a bright spot in my day. Even though I don’t have the chance to comment on each and every post, I do read them all. And, the reason I keep coming back? Your heart shows through. And, I see a woman who seeks God and His plans and purposes.

  3. As hard as you might try I’m not going anywhere. Those who left are their issues and not yours. When Jefferey Dahmer was killed in prison that was wrong. Needless to say some friends didn’t agree. To me murder is murder.

  4. I’m not going anywhere! I really enjoy reading your posts.

  5. I’ve only recently found your blog and I intend to stick around for a while. I really enjoy your posts!

  6. Thank YOU for your honesty and for being willing to discuss the things that might make you unpopular. One more thing you are: a blessing to me! Big hugs.

  7. amen…..and here to stay. God Bless.

  8. Thanks for this post, Becky. I haven’t read your May 2 post, but from this post I think I know what it may have said. I love and appreciate your wisdom and insights.

Leave a reply