A letter to the bunny.

Dear Bunny,

I’ve been attempting to co-exist with you for many months now.  I understand that you require a place to live and am happy to let you live in my backyard rent free.  There are however some rules that were explained to you when you moved in that you seem to have forgotten.  I’ve written them here as a bit of a refresher for you.

  1. Parsley is off limits.  We’ve cultivated our lawn to be a rabbit’s paradise. Filled with clover {and lots of it} you’re more than welcome to eat that. Unfortunately the parsley is mine, you have to stop eating it before I get the chance.
  2. While I would prefer that you stay away from the strawberries as well my primary issue with your consumption of said berries is the fact that you don’t actually like them.  Taking my berries, eating a piece and throwing the rest on the ground is wasteful.  I would enjoy eating my berries {again I point you to the clover if you are hungry}.
  3. Finally I’d like to remind you that there is an absolute buffet of clover for you to eat in the yard proper.  Please eat it.  Encourage your children to eat it.  I’ve seen you all lazily lying in the grass.  It’s time to start pulling your weight around here if you wish to stay.

Sincerely,

A frustrated gardener

2 responses to “A letter to the bunny.

  1. Having a bunny problem as well. He sure loves the strawberries, along with the violas, pansies and petunias, and has nibbled off all the leaves from the lilies. Silly bunny.

  2. Had to laugh. We were also getting “cute little bunnies” in our yard that I kept chasing off in protection of my veggies. We finally put chicken wire on the outside of our fence to the greenbelt behind us. Now I watch the cute little things without disliking them so much. 🙂

Leave a reply

