How an iPhone comes to power

This is the story of a girl who longed for the one thing she could never have. Well that’s not technically true, she could have had one but she refused to pay for it…

On Friday the last person to ever use a Palm Pre Phone ceased using it.  I should know as that person was me.  I had really been fighting getting a new phone.  My phone didn’t always charge, wouldn’t get messages for a few days and often disconnected from towers.  Regardless I persevered as I hate paying money for cellphones.   I sometimes wonder if there is a chip inside them which causes them to self destruct six months before your contract ends but enough with the conspiracy theories.

On Friday after finding my phone dead while sitting in the charger and discovering that the only place my phone would charge was in the car while I was driving I knew I needed to do something.  My phone was antiquated, unreliable and I do have a need for some connection with the outside world.  After making this decision I got the best news ever, my cell phone company decided that morning that I was eligible for an upgrade and I should just come in.

I did not rush in immediately.  There were other, more pressing things on my list of stuff to do.  My Gran and I needed to get our grocery shopping done.  We absolutely had to enjoy iced chai lattes while talking about our upcoming plans for my cousin’s wedding.  These things were of the utmost importance but once my day with Gran was done I marched my little family into the cell phone store and came out with an iPhone.

Friday was a glorious day that fed into a marvelous weekend {technologically speaking}.  I used my cell phone everywhere.  I unhooked my Nano from the car stereo and used my phone in its place.  I checked stats from basement while watching Game of Thrones.   I took pictures on Instagram.  We marveled at how slow and outdated the old phone was and contemplated selling my old iPod as I no longer had a need for it, after all my phone does everything right?

My phone does almost everything it seems.  It can schedule me, connect me, chronicle my life and even help me with work.  It can entertain me, sing to me and even become a book.  The thing my phone does not do is check the pockets of my shorts before I throw them into the wash.   Remember how I unhooked my nano and put my phone into the car stereo system?  I tucked that nano into my pocket and because it’s so small, forgot about it.

As a result my nano is currently sitting in a bag of rice on my desk and my prayers of thanksgiving to God for convincing the cell phone company to cut me a break have now turned to desperate cries for the life of my beloved nano.  My iPhone seduced me into thinking it was the only piece of technology that mattered.  It’s glittery features and quick upload speeds distracted me from other, equally important things.

It’s often the way in life, isn’t it?  When we move on to bigger and better things we forget the people and places we’ve left behind.  We really shouldn’t as they helped shape us into who we have become.  But I digress as that’s really a story for another day.

I present to you now a picture from my new iPhone.  The first of many to come I’m sure…

4 responses to “How an iPhone comes to power

  1. For a phone the iPhone takes amazing pictures.

  2. Okay, I confess. I LOVE my iPhone. I got it in March and sometimes feel that I don’t know how I ever functioned without it. It’s great, it really is. But I totally resonate with the point of your message. Have I let my iPhone cloud my eyes, so to speak, to the glory of God’s Creation that surrounds me? Am I checking sports updates on my phone or texting a friend instead of spending time with my daughter? Wasn’t life so much simpler when all my phone did was make phone calls?

    • I think life was simpler but when we balance things technology can be an incredibly useful thing! I just have to learn balance and remember not to put other pieces of technology in my washing machine!

Leave a reply

