I’ll always remember…

Before my son goes to bed we read a few books to him and help him wind down from the day.  When he was little I would occasionally sing to him but he wasn’t always in need of it and quite often would fall asleep quickly cuddled in my arms. Singing became something we did on nights when it was tough to sleep or during the day when we sang silly numbers that made us both giggle.  Last week while my son was battling a cold I sang to him as he fought to get comfortable at the end of the day.  The song I sang was the song my Dad sang to me, Too Ra Loo Ra Loo Ral.

I have strong memories of my Dad singing to me.  I can hear his voice clearly in my head and if I close my eyes I can see him playing his guitar around the campfire.  Simple moments are often the most memorable it seems.  I remember time spent together as a family.  I remember feeling like I was part of something special.   I hope that my husband and I can find a way to give X. something similar, something special he can look back on with a smile.

I’m happy to say that as X has gotten better he hasn’t wanted me to stop singing. After we finish reading his stories he climbs into my lap, turns and looks me in the eye waiting for me to start.  It’s a lovely moment and another one I’m sure I’ll always remember.

Leave a reply

