Beaky

I have to admit that when it began I found it a little cute.  He wasn’t saying much but he would try to say my name and it made me happy to see him try to say something.  I would encourage him to call me Momma of course but when he slipped up and called me ‘Becky’ I didn’t worry too much as he was doing it very rarely.

From very rare to every other minute, oh how quickly things change.  For the last week or so my son has almost exclusively been calling me Becky.  In fairness it’s actually ‘Beaky’ but still, it’s my name and he will not call me Momma.

It’s just me.  My husband gets the ridiculously cute ‘Daddy’ and the Grandparents get either Grandmamama or Grandpop.  I get ‘Beaky’.   Apparently when he slept over at my parents last weekend he asked for ‘Beaky’.  This is an interesting conundrum.   On one hand I’m pleased he’s speaking but I really would like to be called Momma {or some other form of Mom}.  I’m trying not to make a big deal out of it as it will just reinforce how fantastic it is to say ‘Beaky’ but he seems to really like calling me ‘Beaky’.

I guess for now I’ll be ‘Beaky’ until I can convince him otherwise.  Do any of you have any suggestions?  I’d really love some new strategies right about now!

Leave a reply

