Random Thought Thursday: May 17 Edition

It’s been a while!  Here’s a little of what I’ve been up to:

First of all reading the Bible in the style of a novel instead of through study guides or daily reading sheets has been fascinating.  Little parts I’ve always glossed over have more meaning.  Running into old friends {like Elijah} has been incredibly interesting as I’ve just recently read all that came before so it’s fresh and vivid and his message is quite powerful.  I’m really glad I began this exercise as it has brought the scriptures to life in a new way for me.

Stemming from all this reading I have to say I’m thrilled to not be a prophet back in the day.  Being a prophet was hard.  Ministry is hard enough but having to call an entire people to account would be a nightmare.  Glad I’m just Becky at this moment in time.

Life at home has been pretty quiet.  X. has tons of new words and is always on the go.  I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen and embracing all the fresh spring produce I can find.  I cashed in my air miles for a new waffle iron so I anticipate a  a great waffle adventure is in my future.

I’ve been quiet over the last week as I’ve been taking some time to mull things over and debate what it is God wants from me.  After receiving some wise counsel last night after Presbytery I think I have a better idea on what I should be doing.  I’m grateful for the advice and prayer of friends.  It’s so helpful!

Well that’s it for me but that’s not all.  I’d love to know what’s going on with you.

How have you been?

2 responses to “Random Thought Thursday: May 17 Edition

  1. Let me know what you are thinking. I am committed to blogging more often.

  2. I’ve read The One Year Bible a couple of times and the Bible version that is in chronological order – gave me a different perspective. I did pick up things I hadn’t noticed before…and I linked some of those OT people together that hadn’t paid much attention to before. I told someone recently that reading thru the OT that way made me enjoy the stories cause it IS like reading a novel that way. 🙂

Leave a reply

