Where are the quiet waters?

If Psalm 23 had been written by the mother of a 2 year old who also happened to be a minister on a journey towards a more disciplined prayer life it might begin a little something like this:

The Lord is my Shepherd.  I’m well cared for and have all that I need except sleep. Sleep would be good God.  Sleep would be good.

I am a tired, tired soul.  This past week has been rough sleep wise.  I’ve been up at 3 more times then I care to admit.  Twice my son decided it was morning and another time I awoke with a brilliant idea for the blog that was gone as soon as I fell back asleep.  I really should sleep with a journal and pen for moments like that.  I’ve been getting up earlier and earlier.  This morning I was up at 5:45.  It has been suggested that God wants more time with me.  I would have thought that 5:45 was too early even for God, apparently I was wrong.

The Lord is my Shepherd.  He’s supposed to be leading me to rest by quiet waters, isn’t he?  Maybe that’s just for David…

I have next week off from preaching.  I hope to sleep, play, read, write and embrace all that extra time brings.  I am looking forward to more time.  Just time to do what ever comes forth.  It should be good for my soul.  Maybe I’ll find those quiet waters.

2 responses to “Where are the quiet waters?

  1. Yes Becky – I believe that 5:45 is too early for God too…that doesn’t keep me in bed till 6:30, however.
    Keep well on your ‘week off’
    Jeff

  2. I have always loved that theme! (and the show) Thanks for this. (I have been helping to care for my 4 grandchildren under the age of 3 -one of whom had surgery last week, which we pray will solve his breathing problems and allow him to sleep — and the Lord often wakes me in the wee hours to pray. It’s sweet, but sometimes I can really relate to Eutychus.)

Leave a reply

