Frozen in fear

I have been accused in the past of having high expectations of people.    That I think they are capable of more then they actually are.  I’ve been told that I should just accept that some things won’t change.  I doubt God endorses this philosophy as God is constantly pushing people to change, to be better and to trust him.  This is seen time and again in the Bible and in our own lives if we’re honest.  God wants good things for people, for all people and that rarely lets anyone off the hook when it comes to change.

I think this is why I get so frustrated with the church.  Presbyterians in particular are notorious for halting any hint of change with debate and discussion.  We table absolutely everything.  We claim we are waiting on the Holy Spirit but I have a feeling the Holy Spirit is dancing about in the room and no one is willing to see it. We are afraid of doing anything for fear that it might be wrong or it won’t work.

This fear is killing us.  It’s paralyzed us.  We aren’t doing anything for fear of offending or losing people.  We do this delicate dance around this issue of change and growth.  We never want to talk about what needs to be done because we are afraid.  In my reading this week I came across a passage in Deuteronomy where Moses reminds the people of God that God is always with them.  That God in fact goes before them:

“It is the Lord who goes before you.  He will be with you; he will not fail you or forsake you.  Do not fear or be dismayed.”  Deuteronomy 31:8 NRSV

We need to remember that God is going before us.  Our trust should be in God, not our processes.  We need to accept that movement is part of faith.  Movement and change are built into our history.  There is only one constant, God.  That constant is the thing we should cling to.  We need to push through the fear we feel.  God has moved on and is expecting us to catch up.  It’s time to let go of our attachments to what we know and move forward into the unknown believing that God will provide.

Do you think that’s possible?
Will we find the courage to follow God into a new {different} life?

7 responses to “Frozen in fear

  1. I love these thoughts. I recently read the book, “If you want to walk on water, you have to get out of the boat”. One particular chapter was on fear, it was fear that made Peter sink after a few successful steps for example. Fear stops us from moving forward with God. One insight from that chapter that I had never thought of before was that the most often repeated command in the Bible is…. Fear Not. Do not be Afraid. Maybe we need to look at that in more depth if we hope to reveal to the church that going forward with God is not only an option but also possible.

    • This week one of the things I noticed while reading was how often the people of God were told not to be afraid. I think you’re right, fear is definitely something we should explore.

      I have to check out that book. I’ve heard of it in passing but now I’m intrigued. 🙂

  2. Becky, I don’t believe this relates to Presbyterians in particular….this relates to all Christian churches, mine included.

    • I don’t want to say I’m glad we’re not alone as that’s not quite accurate but it does give me a little relief to know we’re all in it together.

  3. Right on sister! Now to take that big step toward into the future! We cannot allow ourselves to be frozen in fear. I take heart in knowing that even though we are so often failures, Jesus Christ will never fail.

  4. So -how many Presbies does it take to change a light bulb?
    Change??!!

Leave a reply

