Shadow Days

There was a time right around when my son was born that I like to call the dark times of my soul.   I was so angry.  So very angry.  I didn’t know why X. was created in a way that required him to have surgery.  I was angry at God, at everything in our situation and I didn’t know what to do.  There were days when I couldn’t pray, I just sat frightened and fearing the worst.

The prayers of others carried me through that time.  The prayers and thoughts and encouragement of so many of my family, my friends and throughout the community of faith carried me through.  As I stand on the other side I can see the hand of God pressed on me, carrying me, my husband and X.  We survived.  Some might say we thrived.

When I first heard the song Shadow Days by John Mayer I loved it {which should come as no surprise as I love everything by him} but I didn’t pay too much attention to the lyrics.  This week however I happened upon the video and I was struck by one particular line.

“Had a tough time, had a rough start but I finally learned to let it go.”

We had a tough time and a rough start as a family but we pulled through.  I’m so grateful for the love and support of everyone.  The prayers pulled us in.  God was there with us.  We were truly blessed. This song reminded me of how far I’ve come.  How my dark days are indeed over and how blessed I feel right now as part of this family and in my ministry.

2 responses to “Shadow Days

  1. I don’t think we can be effective ministers, addiction counselors, social workers and the like without have gone through our own dark days. Without the guiding Light of the Holy Spirit, all our days are bound to be dark anyway.

Leave a reply

