Here it is…

When I announced the I was going through Leviticus I knew that someone would want to know my stance on Homosexuality and Jesus.  I didn’t expect it to come quite so fast but thanks Robert for prompting me to share.

Here’s it is:

God doesn’t make mistakes.  God makes people.  Some people are gay, some are straight and I think God loves everyone.  Some of you might wonder why I would say this.  You might think I’m a horrible Christian for believing this but here me out.  I don’t think God ever intended for us to hate gay people and I’m fairly certain as a church we’ve got it wrong.

The first thing I thought when I got to Leviticus 18:22 was “well I guess it’s ok to be a Lesbian”.  There’s no mention of women/women relationships and I guess that’s probably due to the fact that women were not really citizens.  I’m not sure why we got hung up on this line really.  It’s one line in a bunch of lines that we don’t really follow anymore.  Think about it for a moment

Truthfully there’s a lot more said about menstruation, semen emissions and sleeping with other animals then there is about homosexuality.

I do not know why one rule is held up over these others.  I do not understand why  Christians who follow Jesus think it’s okay to hate others.  Jesus spoke love into the world.  Jesus lived love in the world.  Jesus showed us how much God loved us and tried to demonstrate how we should live.

When asked which were the most important parts of the law Jesus said “‘…Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” {Matthew 22:37-40 NIV}

We need to love our neighbor.  We need to love them.  This is what Jesus taught us to do.  We are called to love, serve and speak God into the world.  We need to love.

I love gay people.
I love you too.
I try to love everyone.
That’s what Jesus taught me to do.

10 responses to “Here it is…

  1. Thanks for mention. That was my point, the Bible has a lot of weird sayings that we shouldn’t take seriously. Leviticus seems to be the worst for it

    • There are a lot of weird things in the Bible. Unfortunately there are a lot of people with very little understanding on the context and content who make blanket statements for the rest of us. Hopefully more people learn to speak love into the world instead of hate. Also I wish people would actually read the Bible so they could actually discover what is in there instead of just taking someone else’s word on it but I guess that’s another discussion for another time.

  2. Hi Becky 🙂
    I agree with your entire message.
    We are ALL Created in God’s image.
    our purpose to Love and be loved.

    On a related note, It is unfortunate that many – upon hearing I am a christian will assume I am an “extreme ultra conservative that goes around judging and condemning people due to their sexuality”….. and subsequently treat me with guarded words. Those occasions are rare thankfully and once they know me they realize i am far from that comparison 🙂 Tattoos and all – gay friends and all.
    I try to live my life as openly as possible, trying to spread the love and acceptance and grace that Jesus taught us. I find myself daily
    defending the rights of ALL people and God’s creatures. Standing up for the defenceless and poor, the homeless and the alcoholics, the mentally ill and the drug addicts….. caring for their children and showing them a glimmer of Jesus in my acts….
    Peace 🙂
    Laurel

    • I’m so glad you agree Laurel! I’m so glad there are people like you who care about others and want to make a difference. Sharing Jesus and who he really was is so important. We could change the world if we loved as he loved!!!!!

  3. Wonderful post Becky- if everyone believed as you did we would not have people who are afraid to share who they really are. Everyone would be more open to learning about others and showing the love that God has filled our hearts with and Jesus has showed us how to share so freely. May we love each other and embrace our differences!

  4. I am now crying. I am the oldest of 4. All my siblings are gay. Why? But I do know that I love them and their partners. Very much. And by the way, I have eczema (and now I’m laughing).And there’s another common thread…other than too many books! I just posted this scripture this a.m. I call these things GC’s (God Coincidences)!!!!

    • I have eczema too! LOL. I’m so glad you love your family and that we had this God moment together. It’s pretty incredible how God works and this was pretty amazing! 🙂 So many similarities lately! God Bless!

Leave a reply

