Grateful for the ordinary.

I am sitting at the kitchen table contemplating the sour taste remaining in my mouth after having eaten an overripe strawberry.  The light is fading but still plentiful.  I see a dead patch on the grass and wonder if there are grubs to deal with.  My husband and son sit together in the other room surrounded by matchbox cars and potato head pieces.  It’s the end of an ordinary day and I am grateful.  I am grateful for the ordinary.

There is beauty in the ordinary.  A sense of blessing surrounds me.  I am able to sit and know that God is near.  I am grateful for this feeling.  It is a feeling I am lucky to have.  In many ways I feel as though I am standing in the eye of a hurricane as I watch those around me deal with crashing winds and rains.

I have been in the rain.  I have felt the winds blow.  I know the time may be coming where I will face them again.  This sense of calm may be a temporary thing but I embrace it.  I cherish it.  I am grateful for it.

If my posting is irregular or my thoughts seem light it’s because I’m taking in these moments.  If I’m not here I’m out running in the park or baking cookies with my boy.  If I’m not here I’m in prayer and reflecting in the wee hours of the morning.  If I’m not here I’m embracing that which is ordinary, that which is blessed.

I know the rains may come.  I feel the pressure of the wind pushing against me and I wonder where the storm will take us.  For now though I sit.  I sit in the stillness and embrace these gifts.  I thank God for these moments.

3 responses to “Grateful for the ordinary.

  1. Irregular posts are fine. Drink in the ordinary and know God is near. Great thought!

  2. Beautiful thoughts and words…. thank you for sharing 😉 xoxo

  3. overripe strawberry – typical British pleasantry for rotten fruit , lol

Leave a reply

