VBS.

VBS affects kids.  You might think it’s just something for kids to do but it affects them. How do I know this? Right now in my head a song from VBS when I was around 10-11 is in my head.  It’s goes like this:

Good morning Lord.  It’s a beautiful day.
Good morning Lord.  I’m going your way.
Open my eyes and let me see someone who needs a friend like me.
I know that I can surely be loving, caring always sharing.
Good morning Lord.  It’s a beautiful day.
Good morning Lord.  I’m going your way.

I can remember the gatherings we had that year and the friends I found.
I remember the fun I had helping lead the little ones to their activities.
I remember feeling important and yet still having a good time.
It was a transitional year for me.  I was crossing over from participant to helper.
I remember it.  It lives in me even now.  It is a great memory.

I have no idea why this song is in my head today but it did make me wonder.  What will our kids remember 20 years from now about church?  Will their memories be as full as mine?  I sincerely hope so.

2 responses to “VBS.

  1. I was saved at VBS when I was 10 or 11. Who knows what would have happened if I hadn’t. It wasn’t even my church. LOVED it as a kid. 🙂

    • That’s amazing Kelly! I love it. Isn’t it incredibly how things change our lives and we don’t even think about it when we’re starting out. I loved it when I was young too. It was so much fun! 🙂

Leave a reply

