New Church Anxiety

Apparently I have New Church Anxiety.  It’s a new disorder that I’ve diagnosed myself with.  I’m sure I’m not the only one with it so I think the name might catch on.  Tomorrow I’m going to a new church to conduct worship there for the first time.  I’ve been fretting over details all week, trying to make everything perfect and orderly so that when I go in it runs smoothly and everyone has a great Easter experience.  I thought I had things under control.  I went to bed with the sermon done, the order ready to print and the thought that I should iron my gown before service on Sunday.  Sounds like I’m on top of things right?

I think my big mistake was thinking about my gown before going to bed.  I’m not overly comfortable in my gown.  It’s a long story but suffice it to say I very rarely wear it.  We’re talking 3-4 times/year at most.  I’m wearing it tomorrow because there is an Elder’s Ordination in the service and I think it would probably be nice if I dressed for the occasion.

So last night after thinking about my gown I had this dream that I was standing in front of the congregation about to commence with the Great Prayer of Thanksgiving when my gown fell off and I was standing there scrambling trying to put it back on to cover up the Hello Kitty T-Shirt I was wearing.  I don’t actually own a Hello Kitty tee and if I did I would absolutely not wear it to church.  The only day of the week I really get to look nice is Sunday so I dress up a little.

This dream freaked me out and I spent a good hour editing my finished sermon and making sure my service was 100% ready to go.  I think I’m ready now but likely I’ll look at it again later.  Now I’m off to make dinner before I attempt to make dessert for tomorrow.

Since I’ve become a minister I’ve tried to embrace the chaos that surrounds major holidays.  I’m obviously not there yet but I do welcome the day when I’m consistently with the same crew so we can journey through a season together and I have more control over what things are happening.  Apparently I’m a control freak.  Who knew?  I guess this is something I should work on…

8 responses to “New Church Anxiety

  1. If it were me, Becky, I’d take the dream as a sign to go and purchase a Hello Kitty T-shirt, and then wear it to church as soon as you can.
    Happy Easter Becky – go gently into the chaos that comes from finding an empty tomb.

    • Today when I was out I actually turned the corner and saw a Hello Kitty stuffed toy staring at me. Thank heavens it wasn’t a t-shirt! If I do see one I will have to get it. 🙂

      I hope you and your family had a blessed Easter.

  2. They should add this one to WebMd. You’ll do great! And I agree with revjeff about the Hello Kitty tshirt. I’m wearing my Hello Kitty! fuzzy shorts, and I feel like I could conquer the world!

  3. Your sermon ? Well its probably half yours and the other half God’s speaking through you. A little teamwork and you’ll be just fine.

    • It’s always at least 50% God if not more! I take a manuscript in and most of the time leave thinking ‘well that was different’. It’s quite a process. 🙂

  4. Interestingly enough–I could totally picture you wearing a Hello Kitty! tee. Must harken back to our high school days. (Wow…I just used the word ‘harken’). I must confess, thought, I totally don’t get Hello Kitty. And now I have totally missed the point of your post. Sigh. This is how I am these days. Faced with celebrating Easter, I’m stuck on Hello Kitty.

    • This made me laugh! I actually probably would wear a Hello Kitty T-Shirt even though I really don’t get Hello Kitty either. I hope you and your family had a blessed Easter!

Leave a reply

