Landslide

I have a lot of friends who write blogs.  I would say 99% of them are about their personal lives with a hint of Jesus but there are some that are more specific in their direction.

One of my friends recently started a blog called “The Next 500 Years” and his first post {which you should check out} is a bit of an introduction to where he’s going to go with the blog.  He talks about this time of transition in the church as being like the moment when you are at the top of the roller coaster and about to launch down into that giant dip.  It’s the moment when you are absolutely terrified {even if you know what’s coming}.

I like the roller coaster imagery but for me I see it as more of a landslide.  An event that is years in the making, waiting for that one thing which will send everything sliding down the mountain.  No one knows what will happen.  No one knows what it will look like once the event is over.  There is only one guarantee, change is coming and things will never look the same again.

I love the Dixie Chicks rendition of the Fleetwood Mac hit “Landslide”.  It’s something I listen to often and there is one line of lyrics that particularly hits me with regards to life, transition and inevitable change.

“Well I’ve been afraid of changing ’cause I built my life around you”

Sometimes I wonder if we {as Christians} have focused and built around the church buildings instead of Jesus.  Maybe that’s why we’re so scared of changing because we’ve been focused on the wrong thing.

Whether we’re at the top of a roller coaster or sitting on the side of a cliff that’s just about to let go, change is coming.  We might not like it.  We might not want it.  But it’s coming.  I’m looking forward to seeing what the change will bring.

Leave a reply

