Scene: Becky sits, head hanging sheepishly as her fingers hit the keyboard.

So I bet you’re wondering where I’ve been…
I’ve been reading a lot.
I’ve been lost in it actually.
It’s not great English literature.
It’s not about Jesus.
I’ve been reading The Hunger Games.

Embarrassing and true.

It’s okay.  You can laugh.

I was obsessed.  This has happened to me before with other series.  Characters like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson draw me in to their alternate realities and I can’t stop.  I didn’t think it would happen with Katniss.  I didn’t think that a dystopian novel written for young adults would draw me in.  It did.  I was hooked.  I just couldn’t stop.

Now I’m not sure what to read.  I know I should get back to Jesus and the Church but I feel drawn back into the world of young adult literature.  Should I reread Harry Potter?  Does Percy Jackson deserve another visit?  I’m not sure where I will go but I can guarantee it won’t be Twilight.  Vampires that sparkle just seem stupid to me.

3 responses to “Scene: Becky sits, head hanging sheepishly as her fingers hit the keyboard.

  1. thearmychapswife

    I’m glad you mentioned this. I was thinking about reading it out loud to my girls. Would you suggest that, or not. They are 12 and 13. I have only heard about the book (and movie) and I really know nothing about the age level of the book.

    • I’m not sure what to say. I guess it would depend on your girls. There is violence (as it’s a death match) but it really is an interesting story. There are lots of things you could talk about (like standing firm to who you are, being brave in terrible situations, distribution of natural resources, poverty vs. wealth, the value of human life) it’s all in there and so much more. I think it would depend on how comfortable they are in dealing with things like this.

      These issues are things that have been dealt with in the past, are happening around the world now or are likely to happen in the future. It’s never bad to think about them and reflect on it from your own personal belief system. I would think if you were there with them, reading it to them and guiding them through the process that is a huge advantage over some of the other kids who’ve read it and had no one to talk to if they got upset or found something difficult to digest.

      It was written for young adults ages 13 and up but I don’t know if that’s a help. Some movies that are PG13 I wonder why and others I think should be rated R! I hope this comment helps!!!

Leave a reply

