I am not a blogger.

****Carl was right so I’m going to add a few edits.  Thanks Carl!****

I am not a blogger.

You might disagree, especially if you’re reading this.  You might argue that I have a blog and therefor I am a blogger but I disagree.  I am not a blogger.

Statistically the posts that are read the most are my rants about the church and where it’s going.  They have a lot to do with God and sometimes involve a few thoughts and reflections. They usually have nothing to do with me personally {aside from my feelings on the topic}.  They are long, wordy and fairly impersonal. (Edit: Impersonal is a matter of impression.  I do not announce my daily schedule or tell you where I am going.  I also do not announce my daily bathroom visits.  This is because I want to keep some mystery.  I do however feel there are personal aspects to the blog and that I have shared quite a bit here.  Sorry for the confusion.)  This is exactly what they tell you not to do when you blog.  That is exactly what they tell you to do when you’re a minister.

Statistically the posts that are hated are in fact my more ‘blogging rules’ oriented posts.  I cannot write about nothing.  I stink at writing for the sake of writing.  I’m terrible at series and writing on a topic that’s given to me.  I am much more content when I write for the sake of writing because something matters to me.

I can’t say I didn’t try to be a blogger.  I read all the rules.  I tried to stay within them.  I didn’t work for me. When I write what I am passionate about, people seem to read it.  When I follow the movement of the spirit I am inspired.  When I follow rules I lose interest. I’m not a blogger. I’m not meant to follow the rules.

I am not a blogger but I am someone who wants to write about what she loves.  I love God.  I love faith.  I love my family and community.  I’m passionate about change and growth. I believe strongly that God is with us as a people of faith. I want to write about what in life moves me.  I want to keep my skills sharp and write about what matters most.  After all the blog is an extension of me and I am passionate about many things.

I am a believer.
I am a wife, a mother and a friend.
I am a preacher and teacher.
I am a writer.
I am a lover of food.
I am a lover of music.

I want this blog to be an extension of me.  A place where I can minister to those around me.  A quiet corner to express my thoughts when I have them swirling in my head.  I want to share moments that matter in my life, food that I love and music I adore.  I want this blog to be about things that matter and not rules or regulations.  I don’t want to blog for others, I want to blog for myself. Edit:That should have said: I don’t want to blog by others rules.  I want to set the rules for myself.

I am not a blogger.
I am Becky and I write a blog.
I feel pretty good about that.

4 responses to “I am not a blogger.

  1. They are long, wordy and fairly impersonal. I don’t want to blog for others, I want to blog for myself.

    Neither of these statements is true. As an extension of your ministry the opposite is true in both cases.

    • After reading it again I realized it might not come across in the way I had intended. I should have said I don’t want to blog according to other’s rules. I want to blog based on my own guidelines.

      You are correct Carl and I totally love your cartoons. I never comment and should but they make me laugh and I thank you for that!

      • Also by fairly impersonal I was kind of implying that there is some mystery left. I do not announce my daily schedule or let you know the status of my bathroom visits. Some blogs I’ve read do. In comparison I seem impersonal I think to others but it’s really just a matter of how I was raised. 🙂

  2. I just finished writing a similar post about following the “blogging rules.” After the Relevant conference, I thought that I *should* do all sorts of things, but that’s simply not the way I am wired. I lost all interest in blogging the moment I tried to mold it to the script. It’s refreshing to see someone else do the same!

Leave a reply

