The Branches

I randomly found myself thinking last night of a name for the church that I always say I want to be part of.  The church that has:

  • Multiple services in different styles so that all people can be part of one community but experience God in their own way.
  • Ministry for youth and children, families, singles, seniors and anyone else who needs it.
  • Studies and small groups to help people connect and discover.
  • Comfortable seating so that people are happy.
  • Relevant messages that touch people’s hearts.
  • Mission that reaches out into the community around us.
  • A vision for the future and goals to make that happen.

I’d love for this church to be called “(we are) The Branches”.  This may sound cheesy but hear me out.  The name implies ownership.  The name is action.  It was inspired by this verse:

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5

Jesus says we are the branches.  On any tree there are many branches, each a slightly different expression of the whole.  Wouldn’t it be marvelous if we could all come together as one community, in one place and hold multiple services with various expressions.  If we gathered together, shared our resources and did ministry in the world what a difference we could make.  As a people we are called to be the branches.  If we claimed this name and allowed it to define us we might be encouraged to move boldly into the world, growing and reaching into the community in the hopes of making a difference.

I know these things may never happen but sometimes you just find yourself thinking…

{This is the reason I don’t do much personal reflection.  Once I start I can’t stop.  I apologize in advance for any further ramblings this project through Lent may inspire.}

Leave a reply

