Carrot Cake Muffins

I flipped through recipe books quite a lot this week looking for perfect superbowl recipes.   I knew from the very start of planning that the layered taco dip I make would have to be served along with some other treats my family loves but I wanted something sweet to finish off the evening and I couldn’t find the right one.  I got to work and picked out a few recipes, narrowed them down and then changed my mind this morning.  I threw caution to the wind today and made a healthy version of my Coconut Lime Cupcakes.  Then to make sure no one left hungry {highly unlikely but you never know} a dozen carrot cake muffins.

Here is the Carrot Cake Muffin Recipe.  They were delicious! I began with the Happy Herbivore Recipe and then made some changes to make them my own. When one is cooking healthy muffins with no oil, moisture can be a problem.  As a result I boosted the applesauce to make sure they didn’t dry out.  I’ve made them both ways and I have to say I like the changes better.  The addition of the walnuts and raisins makes it a truer carrot cake and the added applesauce keeps everything moist.  I will definitely make these again!

These muffins are healthy enough to be eaten for breakfast and tasty enough to be iced and served as dessert.  If you don’t tell people they’re made with whole wheat flour, they will never know!

Enjoy!

Carrot Cake Muffins

(As you can see 2 are already missing from the dozen!  They are so good.) 

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c whole-wheat pastry flour
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp fine salt
  • 2 scant c applesauce
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c walnuts, chopped
  • 1/2 c raisins
  • 1 large carrot shredded

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Place muffin liners in pan and grease lightly with cooking spray
  • In a small bowl combine applesauce, shredded carrot, chopped walnuts, raisins and vanilla.  Set aside.
  • In a large bowl whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt together.
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.  Mix well.
  • Fill 12 muffin cups.
  • Bake for 23-27 minutes.
  • Once the muffins are done, place on a cooling rack.
  • Enjoy!

Extra Information:

  • The muffin cups will be very full.  It’s completely fine.  They will be nice big moist muffins but not the mutant size muffins you see in coffee shops.  Don’t worry about them overflowing as they cook.  They don’t rise that much {as you can see in the picture}.
  • Don’t over bake them.  You want to make sure that the fork/toothpick comes clean of course but if you bake them for too long they may dry out.  Moisture is a good thing.
  • Feel free to mix up the add ins if you so desire.
Leave a reply

