A new beginning.

I’ve been in a bit of a writing drought lately.  Words that usually pour like rain from my fingers are being dug deep out of the dry soil that surrounds me.  Every word that makes it to the page is a bit of a triumph.  I have found it, that word.  It has meaning.  It has purpose.

When you’re used to writing with relative ease this can be a frustrating thing but through the years, I’ve  come to realize however that these times aren’t a trial, they are gifts.  They show me how lucky I am to have the ability to write.  It encourages me to never take one word for granted and to always search for that perfect word to convey an emotion or event.

In an attempt to dig myself out of this dry period I have begun a few projects to help bring renewal into my creative life.  I’ve moved our computer up from the basement into my office.  I usually work on my laptop around the house but I think having an established centre where my work flows might be helpful for me.  So far I think it looks great but there are a few finishing touches that I’d like to put on my desk and surrounding area before I post a picture.   I’ve also started dreaming of different ways to write and dream in words.  Maybe fiction or non-fiction is in my future.  A book of prayers perhaps?  Who knows, the possibilities are endless.

As I begin fresh in the world of writing this year, I wonder what things you are beginning new.  Do you have any projects you’re working on?  Is there any area of your life that you’ve felt needed a change?  I’d love to hear about your adventures in renewal.

2 responses to “A new beginning.

  1. I hope this year is one of creativity and dreams for you! I think you would do well at writing a book. Your thoughts on what the true church should be have been great blog posts–maybe you could compile those into a book form? It will be fun to see where this year takes you–well, I guess I should say, where God takes you this year. : )

    • Thanks Lisa. 🙂 I am a little curious to know where I’ll be at the end of the year but I’m excited to find out as I go! It should be a good year.

Leave a reply

