Accidental Breakfast Biscuits

These biscuits were an accident.  I was fooling around and thought I would make some cookies that were healthy.  I threw some ingredients in a bowl, rolled out the dough and was hoping for a nice fluffy cookie.  Instead I got this delightful surprise!

They are:

  • Great with some jam.
  • Delicious smeared with peanut butter.
  • Delectable eaten beside some scrambled tofu.
  • So good that my son begged me to serve them with his breakfast & lunch the day after I made them.

The serving styles are really endless and they are incredibly easy to make.  I enjoyed them so much that I am contemplating some kind of holiday brunch event as I feel these should be a featured side. I almost forgot the best part, they are healthy!  Whole wheat, oil free and still tasty, you really can’t ask for more.

Accidental Breakfast Biscuits:

Ingredients:

  • 6 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 c apple sauce
  • 1/3 c powdered sugar
  • 1 c white sugar
  • 2 tbsp vanilla
  •  2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 375.
  • Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cornstarch.
  • Combine applesauce, vanilla and sugar.
  • Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients.
  • Mix well.
  • Prepare the surface you’re going to roll the dough on with a dusting of flour.
  • Roll out dough to about an inch in thickness and cut out desired shape.
  • Place on cookie sheets
  • Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes.
  • Remove, cool and enjoy!

Extra Information:

  • I think these would also be delicious with a pinch of cinnamon added to the mix.
  • They took exactly 22 minutes in my oven.
  • The recipe made 24 huge biscuits.  I think it would make around 36-48 regular size ones {depending on the biscuit cutter used}.
One response to “Accidental Breakfast Biscuits

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz

    What an awesome surprise! Normally when I experiment in the kitchen it never turns out how I expected it, or better. These look so amazing, I love the fun gingerbread shapes!!

Leave a reply

