It’s all in the icing…

The cookie experience I had last night was delightful but it wasn’t the cookie that turned my head, it was the icing.  The cookie was okay.  Your usual, standard sugar cookie.  This cookie was a variation on my Vanilla Butter Cookie {my new version is egg and butter free} and it was good.  I tried it before I added icing but when I added the icing the cookie moved from pretty good to amazing in an instant.  This icing is the perfect topping to your Christmas treats.

It makes loads.  Loads, I tell you.  Don’t let that stop you.  Cut the icing in half or use it on everything.  You won’t be disappointed!  I intend to make many things and am hoping to find the perfect pound cake recipe to use the rest of it on. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tsp peppermint extract
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 c icing sugar
  • 1/3 c soy milk

Instructions

  • Combine the peppermint extract, vanilla, soy milk and 1 c of icing sugar in a bowl.
  • Continue adding sugar until you reach the desired texture and consistency.
  •  Ice the cookies!

Extra Information:

  • It may be tough to stir the icing.  Keep stirring.  It’s worth it and you’ll get a creamy, thick texture.
Leave a reply

