Banana Muffins

Banana muffins are one of my all time favorite things.  I adore bananas in baking and yesterday when I saw three lonely bananas hanging from a hook, I knew I had to use them.  My traditional banana bread recipe has too much fat to be considered healthy (although it is delicious) and the alternate recipe I used instead was missing that special something that banana bread requires.  Here’s my new, improved recipe.  It retains the flavor of the original but is much healthier!  If you ever find yourself with some over ripe bananas that need to be used, this is the recipe you should try.  Enjoy!

Banana Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas (the riper the better!)
  • 1/4 c soy milk
  • 1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 c cane sugar
  • 2 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Line a 12 c muffin tin with liners and lightly spray with baking spray.
  • Mix soy milk and apple cider vinegar together and set aside.
  • Mash the bananas.
  • Add the sugar to the bananas.
  • Sift the flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder today.
  • Add the dry ingredients and the soy milk mixture to the bananas.
  • Stir the ingredients together until well combined but do not over mix.
  • Fill your muffin tins and then bake in the oven for 23-27 minutes or until done.
  • Enjoy!

Extra Instructions:

  • When you are cooking with no fat the liners can stick to the muffins.  This is why I spray the liners before filling them with the mixture so that removal is easy when you want to eat.
  • Feel free to add chocolate chips, nuts or other additions to make this recipe your own.
  • Do not overbake!  Seriously!  Because there is no fat in them they will dry out quite quickly if left in too long.  Watch them closely.
3 responses to “Banana Muffins

  1. These sound really good! I don’t usually buy soy milk, though. Do you think I could substitute regular milk instead? I have bananas right now that really need to be used, so I’d love to try your recipe!

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz

    Yuuummm! I love any kind of baked goods with bananas in them. And I love your muffin liners, so festive!

Leave a reply

