Noel Nog…

…you complete me.

This stuff is keeping me alive.

Well not actually ‘alive’ technically but it is keeping me sane and happy.

Since we’ve switched to a whole food plant based diet I’ve given up dairy.  This turned out to be a good thing for me as I am actually allergic to dairy (confirmed on an allergy test at 16) and I could never give up cheese.  I loved cheese. Nevertheless I persevered this summer through cheese withdrawal and found myself feeling 100% better.  Apparently it’s something I should have given up long ago.  Anyways flash forward to now and I was starting to feel a little bummed about not having egg nog.  It’s popped up in stores again.  I used to delight in egg nog season.  When I saw this Noel Nog on the shelf I was skeptical but I thought I would give it a try.  It was a hard sell even after I got it home as it sat in my fridge for 5 days before I got the nerve to try it.  I was afraid it would be a huge disappointment.  I was wrong, after that first sip I was sold!  Nog is back in my life again.

My hesitation towards this change got me thinking, how many things do we not try because we are afraid we won’t like it or don’t know what to expect?  Sometimes I think in our hesitation to move into unknown territory we miss out on something that could be great.

Luckily I eventually tried the Nog.  Happy Holidays!

2 responses to “Noel Nog…

  1. Publix grocery store has an egg nog ice cream and this year came out with a pumpkin cinnamon spice. But I have given up the ice cream and pastry as must lose 30 pounds. Lost 8 so far.

Leave a reply

