All I want for Christmas….

I know it’s a little early to think about Christmas.  Two days ago I was greeting princesses at the door and tending to my little cow as he ran around the house having a grand time.  The vibrant colours that fill my yard inspire me.  The weather has been crisp and clear.  It’s just not time for Christmas and yet I can’t stop playing the latest Michael Buble Album.  His Christmas Album is filled with your classic numbers.  It’s playful and fun with your traditional Christmas numbers.  I like it.

In the midst of tradition though is a fantastic version of Mariah Carey’s All I Want for Christmas.  Buble has added his own flair in what some might call a gutsy move.  No longer playful it’s become a song of longing and slight sadness.  In life it’s easier to take the easy road, to do what people expect and yet he chose to go his own way.   He chose to be true to himself.   I want to remember this.  When I listen to this song I can hear a new layer of truth, a piece of the story I’d never heard before.  We all bring a new layer to the story, our own understanding and our own experience.   We need to trust that.  We need to believe that our layer can be different yet equally inspired.

4 responses to “All I want for Christmas….

  1. Wow. I hadn’t planned on buying this album. But upon hearing the snippets of his take on this song, I think I MUST buy it. I love Christmas album (and I don’t think there is any such thing as too early!). Thanks for posting this, Becky. 🙂

    • It is fantastic! You’ll love it. 🙂

      I hope you’re enjoying getting into the spirit with the Christmas Cups out at Starbucks. I haven’t yet gone as I know once I do I’m in big trouble….peppermint hot chocolate is so yummy!

  2. “All I want for Christmas is my 2 front teeth.” I remember thinking when I was just five or six hearing the song whatta jerk this kid must be. And that one about “catching a falling star and put it in your pocket” Well that would be cool except when your mother beat you half to death for burning a hole in your pants. 5 year olds are very logical and see the foolishness in adult songs. At least I was.

Leave a reply

