Random Thought Thursday: August 25th

  1. We have 6 days to go in our famine relief journey.  It’s been a very interesting month.  I’ve done a lot of reading on the food supply, how we eat as North Americans and what can be done to make changes.   We have not gone hungry over the past month and the money we saved (in not buying meat) will hopefully help those who need it much more than we do.
  2. My husband and I have noticed we have a lot more energy now with the diet we’ve been eating.  We’ve relied on grains, greens, veggies and fruit.  It’s really caused us to think about what we were eating before and how we can improve.  There’s a lot to be said for a plant-based diet but I think that might be a post on it’s own.
  3. We had a crazy night last night weather wise.  Huddled downstairs together as a family we watched Kung Fu Panda, played with some toys. It’s wasn’t Vegas (where my family currently is) but I think we made the best of a potentially boring situation.
  4. I took six weeks off and I’m only 1/2 way through the first week.  I’m already thinking of what to do when I go back to work.  This is not good.  I think I may need a course in letting things go.
  5. I had signed up to attend the Relevant 2011 conference (for Christian Blogging Women) and was very excited to attend until recently when I started thinking that maybe I should be going to something more in my own field.  The problem is, I’m not a ‘blogger’.  I have a blog and am technically a ‘blogger’ but I feel more defined as a minister.  It’s who I am.  It’s what I do.  Even know with no official Church connection, I dream of projects and sermon series. I think of things that might attract people.  I look for ways to keep my hand in as I know someday I’ll be called back into full time service. Because of this I wonder if I should sell my ticket and attend another conference, closer to my heart.  I really don’t know what to do at this point.  If you have any suggestions I’m open and listening!
  6. We have become Scrabble addicts in this house.  It’s serious business.  I found my husband memorizing three letter Scrabble words the other day.  I’m a little scared.
5 responses to “Random Thought Thursday: August 25th

  1. 1. Have you read “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver? You should–it’s all about revolutionizing/realizing our North American Food Culture. I have the feeling you’d appreciate it.

    2. Awesome Scrabble word a friend of mine always uses: Ziti. The first time he played it, I challenged him since I’d never heard of it. And now, I’m forever looking for ways to use the darn word when we play Scrabble. No luck…yet….

  2. Hello, I am Amanda from A Sweet Life Rocks. I am slowly making my way thru all the blogs on the link up party for Relevant over at Denise in Bloom. That is where I found you.

    Your random thought Thursday post was interesting. I hope you find your way with ministry and the conference. Remember, God works in ways that we do not see……He might use something as unexpected as a blog conference to speak something new and specific to your heart.

    Nice to meet you!

    Loving and Living Life……. Amanda

  3. Thanks Amanda! I am mulling things over and am working through things. You are absolutely right about God using things that are unexpected to make new things happen.

    I’ll be sure to pop by and visit your blog as soon as I have a moment!

  4. I stopped over from the link up party too. Who knows what God is up to at this conference. I took it as I sign that He wanted me to go when I found out it is ten minutes from my house a week before the tickets went on sale.

Leave a reply

