Pomegranate Lime Iced Tea

As we’ve given up meat for the next month to support famine relief, I’ve been reading vegetarian/vegan cookbooks to get some ideas on what to eat for supper. So far we’ve been eating very well and are feeling great.  As I was flipping through The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone this morning, I happened to notice a recipe for Pomegranate Lime Iced Tea and thought I should give it a try.  As I looked closer though I realized I needed to tweak the recipe.  I am not a fan of sweetened iced tea and I didn’t have any fresh limes.  Here’s my variation on the original recipe. It’s tart, refreshing and completely satisfying on a mid-summer afternoon.  Enjoy! 

Pomegranate Lime Iced Tea

Ingredients:

  • 4 green tea bags 
  • 2 c unsweetened pomegranate juice
  • 1/3 c lime juice
Instructions:
  • Bring 8 c of water to a boil.
  • Pour into a tea pot with the 4 green tea bags.
  • After the tea has steeped and cooled a bit, add the pomegranate and lime juices to the pitcher.
  • Poor the green tea into the pitcher until it is full.
  • Chill in the fridge until desired temperature.
  • Enjoy!
Extra Information:
  • If you like sweetened iced tea, you’ll likely have to add a sweetener as this is quite tart.  Try maple syrup or honey for a natural boost.
Gallery of Favorites

5 responses to “Pomegranate Lime Iced Tea

  1. Yum! I will have to try that.

  2. love this and I think I might make up a big batch for a upcoming birthday party!

  3. That sounds really refreshing. My whole family loves lime.

  4. Your pomegranate lime iced tea looks and sounds so refreshing and delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe with the first edition of the Gallery of Favorites!

  5. Pingback: Saturday afternoon | From Ministry to Motherhood

Leave a reply

