Muskoka Bean Salad

While we were in Muskoka this summer there were a few days that were so mind numbingly hot that all we could do was jump in the car and head out to find somewhere with air conditioning or a cool breeze.  While we were exploring the countryside we happened upon Marty’s World Famous Cookbook by a local cafe owner Marty Curtis.   

As I poured through the pages that night I knew we had to find this cafe and give some of his delicacies a try.  The next day with some assistance from Google I found Marty and his Buttertarts in Bracebridge Ontario.   As I stood at the counter eyeing the deep dish pie and the delicious looking buttertarts, I knew that the only way to justify eating dessert was to order lunch first.

As I tucked in to some of Marty’s World Famous Bean Salad, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.  I had read the recipe in the cookbook and I’m usually not a fan of canned vegetables of any sort.  That said when I arrived home I knew I wanted to kick it up a notch.  I wanted to dial back the heat, ramp up the flavor and really feature fresh ingredients.  I’d like to thank Marty for the inspiration. This bean dish has become one of our staple recipes throughout our Meat Free month for Famine Relief and no one is going hungry as a result.

Muskoka Bean Salad

Ingredients: 

  • One can of chickpeas, drained
  • One can of kidney beans, drained
  • A couple of handfuls of fresh green beans (approx. 1 small box) washed and cut into bite sized pieces.
  • One cup of frozen corn.
  • 1/2 of a sweet onion, chopped.
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced.
  • 1 tbsp Earth Balance Butter (or margarine/butter whichever you prefer)
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp dried basil
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

  • Heat the Earth Balance and olive oil in a pan on medium heat until the Earth Balance has melted.
  • Add the onion and cook until the onion is softened and beginning to brown.  This usually takes 3-5 minutes.
  • Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute.
  • Add the green beans and corn.  Cook for 5 minutes, stirring regularly to ensure they don’t stick.
  • While the beans and corn are cooking mix together the balsamic vinegar, basil and honey.  Set aside.
  • Add the chickpeas and kidney beans to the pot.  Cook for another minute.
  • Remove from heat and stir in the dressing.
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  • Chill in the fridge for at least an hour before serving.
Extra Information:
  • This keeps very well and it tends to go quickly in our house.   I often make it as a side and eat the leftovers for lunch the next day.
  • If you don’t eat honey feel free to substitute Agave Nectar or Maple Syrup at your discretion.

10 responses to “Muskoka Bean Salad

  1. I loveeeeeee bean salad! Great recipe!! Yumz

    http://www.mangledlollipop.wordpress.com

  2. This sounds and looks lovely! Definitely going to try this recipe…I love beans!

  3. This bean salad sounds lovely. I like how you searched for the restaurant. Such a fun idea. April and I would like to feature this tomorrow on our new hop Gallery of Favorites (it it the new name of our hop). Is it okay if we use your picture in our posts?

  4. Pingback: Gallery of Favorites - Link up your favorite Blog Post | Premeditated Leftovers

  5. Becky, I’m so pleased to have featured your post this week. My family and I used to holiday near Bracebridge when I was a child, and I have many fond memories of the Muskoka area. I love that you discovered Marty’s cookbook on your travels and then sought out his diner. Your bean salad is lovely. It’s wonderful that it has such a great story behind it!

    • Muskoka is beautiful, isn’t it? I am always game for finding something interesting at that cafe brought a wonderful sense of adventure to the day. Thanks for the feature. I’m quite excited! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Fun stuff on Friday | From Ministry to Motherhood

Leave a reply

