Restoration

I am tired today yet I won’t rest.  There’s too much to do.  I have laundry and dishes. There are walls to be scrubbed.   Flowers to water.  Jam to make.  A service to prepare for.  I’m sure if I tried I could find a lot more to do.  There are always ways to keep busy.

Why can’t I stop?  Why can’t I rest?  God stopped.  God took a break.   Jesus stopped.  He took a break.  Yet here I stand with bags under my eyes, muscles fatigued from overwork and too little sleep.  I’m stupidly pushing through, refusing to take a break, refusing to seek restoration.

Restoration is a concept that we all long for, yet rarely realize.  We want to feel whole.  To be restored to our full selves.  Yet somehow, we’ve developed ways to prevent this from happening.  Our lives are too busy.  We’ve got technology and schedules and a great many responsibilities heaped upon us.  There is too much happening.  Too much on our minds.  Not enough space.  Not enough room for God to enter and help us find peace.

We need to make room for this peace.  This restoration of the soul.  This idea that we might be able to take time, be still and know God.

I wonder if I can sit in the stillness.
Will I know God today?
 

4 responses to “Restoration

  1. I know what you mean.

  2. Restoration suggests that we were once pure and uncontaminated. I don’t know how long the infant’s innocence lasts. I do know that since the Holy Spirit helped me get clean and sober 9+ years ago, I do feel restored within and the connection with God restored as well. I am not getting notifications of your or anyone else’s posts. Any suggestions?

    • I haven’t been getting notifications either! A friend of mine also mentioned this so I will have to look into this further.

    • I’m so glad you feel restored Carl. I am feeling better having spent the last few days focused on meditation and prayer. I let myself stray too much and it was a little overwhelming. Sometimes it’s good to be reminded of your priorities and I think I definitely was!

Leave a reply

