Chocolate-Hazelnut Spread

Chocolate-Hazelnut Spread is delicious.  It’s also something I tend to avoid as I could eat spoonfuls of it right from the jar.  I love it on toast.  I love it on crepes.  I love it in baked goods.  It’s fantastic stuff.   It’s also filled with sugar and potentially unhealthy oils.  Not something you want to be eating everyday.

Luckily I’ve found a brand that is close to healthy.  My son loves it and eats it fairly regularly on his toast.  That said I find it to be dangerous.  If I have some on my toast, I am still thinking about it at lunch.  It’s a little too sweet for me to start my day with.  When I came across a recipe for a homemade version of the Chocolate-Hazelnut Spread in the Part Time Vegan Cookbook by Cherise Grifoni, I knew I had to try it.   I changed to recipe to make it a little healthier by substituting agave nectar for the powdered sugar.  I also beefed up the cocoa powder to create a deep rich flavor.  In the end it was delicious and was reminiscent of my Cherry Chocolate Energy Balls.  This recipe is a definite keeper. Enjoy!

Chocolate-Hazelnut Spread

Ingredients:

  • 2 c shelled hazelnuts
  • 1 c almond milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/2 + 1/3 c cocoa powder
  • 2/3-1 c agave nectar

Instructions:

  •  Toss your hazelnuts into a food processor and process until the nuts are very fine and are beginning to stick to the side.
  • Add the almond milk, vanilla, and canola oil.  Process until well blended.
  • Add the cocoa powder and 2/3 c of the agave nectar.  Process until smooth.  Taste the mixture and add more of the agave nectar if needed.
Extra Information:
  • I used 2/3 of a cup of agave and it makes a slightly sweet spread. We loved it but you may need more sugar if you like a sweet spread.  If you don’t like the taste of agave (which can impart a slight molasses flavor) feel free to substitute powdered sugar to taste as recommended in the original recipe.
  • This will keep in the fridge in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

2 responses to “Chocolate-Hazelnut Spread

  1. Teaspoon in coffee, milk or milkshake great too

Leave a reply

