The Feast of Pentecost

“And afterward,
I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
your old men will dream dreams,
your young men will see visions.
Joel 2:28 (NIV)

Today is Pentecost.  The day it all began.  The day the Spirit descended and empowered the Apostles to share the Gospel.  In a sense it’s the birthday of the Church. It’s a day of celebration!

I really wanted to share this sense of celebration with the children this morning so I went to a local bakery and asked them to make me a cake to share with the Church so we could talk a little about Pentecost and what it means for us as Christians.  Nicole (the wonderful cake designer) asked me what decorations I wanted on it.  I had no idea.  I gave her vague ideas about the Holy Spirit, and celebrations and in the end as I wasn’t very clear she said to leave it with her.

This was what we got.  It’s marvelous!


She’s capture the sense of the day.  A dove (for hope), the flash of color for strength and an overwhelming sense of spirit cover this cake.  It’s beautiful!  I couldn’t have articulated it better had I tried.

Today, we as Christians celebrate the gift of the Holy Spirit.   While we all may celebrate differently, it is indeed a day to embrace and enjoy.  On this day we were given a vision.  On this day we were given a purpose.  We are to be the Good News in the world.  We are to carry a message of Hope into a broken world.   We are to love one another as Jesus loved us.

My prayer for you is that you feel the Spirit today.  That you let it enter your hearts and fill you with your own vision, your own purpose.  I pray that you will be connected with the one who created you.  That you will embrace that Spirit, let it change you and find your path as you serve others in the world.

One response to “The Feast of Pentecost

  1. Thank you so much for a very inspiring message. The cake is awesome as well.

Leave a reply

