Time away

Life is crazy right now.  Not bad, just crazy.  I’m working a lot.  I’m home with X. during the day.  I’m writing and prepping for Sunday at night.  I have activities, commitments and I’m busier now than I was when I was working full time.  These things have left me contemplating choices.  I wonder where I am being called next.  I am not sure where life is leading me.

Yesterday afternoon I decided to take a break from all of that.  I strapped X. into his stroller and we went off on an adventure.  We usually adventure throughout the week but this was different.  We disappeared from the world for a few hours and it was wonderful.  I took some pictures.  We hit the swings. We stopped at the lake and soaked up the beauty that surrounds our home.

When I came home, I realized how important time away is.   I felt refreshed.  All it took was a simple break.  No connection with the outside world.   With no bulletins, no crises, and no writing to do I was able to relax and enjoy the day. It was wonderful.

When I look at the life of Jesus, I can see that he knew when to take a break. After feeding the 5000 he went off on his own for a time of prayer and silence. I need to learn from this.  I need to take breaks.  I have to start taking time for myself to recharge and regenerate after a busy week.  From now on Mondays are sacred. They will be a time to read, reflect and pray.  I will enjoy time with my son, and just do what I want to do.   We all need a Sabbath sometimes.  I think this will be wonderful.

 

2 responses to “Time away

  1. Amen, sister.

Leave a reply

