Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti

Last week was much better for us in terms of eating in our house.  There were no birthdays to contend with.  My cake decorating class had ended.  It was a treat to not eat cake.  I was very relieved.   That said, I am a girl who likes a treat and my brother did come home for the weekend which is cause for celebration in my family.  We love a good reason for a get together.  I offered to bring dessert to the BBQ and this is what I whipped up.  After looking at countless biscotti recipes and finding no flavor combination that inspired, I happened upon a jar of Chocolate Hazelnut Spread in my cupboard.   I knew I had to make a Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti.

These are actually a very healthy cookie.  I used a mixture of Whole Wheat Pastry flour and Whole Grain Cornmeal to add some nutrients and some fiber.  The cocoa powder adds antioxidants and the hazelnuts add a little healthy fat to the mix.  You can enjoy this cookie with your afternoon coffee without feeling terribly guilty.  That said, they are dangerously tasty so I wouldn’t put more than one or two out at a time!  Enjoy!

Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti

Ingredients:

  •  2 C Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 3/4 c medium grind whole grain cornmeal
  • 1/4 c cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 scant c sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 c chopped hazelnuts
Instructions:
  • Preheat oven to 325
  • Line baking sheet with parchment paper
  • Whisk together the flour, cornmeal, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.  Set aside.
  • Beat the sugar and eggs together until well combined.   Add the flour mixture and beat until blended.  Stir in the hazelnuts.  Set the dough aside for about 5 minutes.
  • Divide the dough into 2 balls.  Shaping the dough into loaves as you go, place them side by side on the baking sheet leaving enough space for some growth.
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until finished.
  • Cool the loaves until they can be handled (about 5 minutes or so).
  • Using a serrated knife, cut the loaves into logs of equal size and arrange cut side up on the baking sheet.  Bake for an additional 25 minutes.
  • Remove cookies from oven and flip.  Bake for 5 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and transfer cookies to a cooling rack.
  • Let cool completely before enjoying.
Extra Information:
  • When you chop the hazelnuts make sure they are fairly small pieces. They are lovely when mixed through at just the right size.  Too big and they get in the way.
  • I served these after dinner with some fresh cut strawberries and a nice cup of decaf coffee.  It was a nice, light ending to the meal.

3 responses to “Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti

  1. Yes, they were indeed lovely . . . . . thanks for sharing! With love always,

  2. Thanks for posting this! I’ve been thinking I need to find some way to use the cornmeal in my cabinet.

Leave a reply

