Baklava Muffins

I happened upon these muffins while studying my copy of “How to be a Domestic Goddess” by Nigella Lawson.  My purpose in studying the book was to find a unique dessert recipe for the weekend however my attention was diverted from that task when I flipped the page and saw this recipe.   Baklava is one of my favorite treats and I knew I had to make these muffins.   As always I changed a few things.  I used Whole Wheat Pastry flour and Turbinado sugar to make them a little healthier.  Overall the finished product was delightful.  They are perfect with a cup of coffee around 10 in the morning!

Baklava Muffins
Makes 12 Muffins
Adapted from “How to be a Domestic Goddess” by Nigella Lawson

Ingredients:

For the filling:

  •  1/2 c chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 c turbinado sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp melted butter
For the muffins:
  • 1 1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 c turbinado sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 c + 2 tbsp buttermilk
  • 1/4 c honey reserved for the topping
Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 
  • Mix the filling ingredients together in a small bowl.  Set aside.
  • In a large bowl mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda and sugar until well combined.  Set aside.
  • In a small bowl mix the egg, melted butter and buttermilk until well combined. 
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry mixture, stirring until the mixture is just combined.  Do not over mix. 
  • Fill the muffin cups 1/3 full.
  • Add a spoonful of the filling.
  • Fill the rest of the muffing cup until 2/3-3/4 full.
  • Bake in the oven for 15 minutes (or until finished)
  • Once finished remove from the oven and let sit for a minute or two.
  • While the muffins are still hot remove from pan and place on a cooling rack.
  • Heat the honey on the stove over medium heat.
  • Drizzle the honey over the muffins and enjoy!
Extra Information:
  • I used a melon baller to put one scoop in the bottom of each cup. Then I added the filling and scooped a final dab of muffin mix on top. It worked quite well and got rid of a lot of mess.
  • If you lightly spray your muffin cups before filling them the muffins will slip out of them beautifully without sticking to the sides.
  • For easy clean up place the cooling rack on top of a cutting board to catch any drippings as you drizzle the honey.



 

20 responses to “Baklava Muffins

  1. That sounds like a weekend to me! Thanks for the inspiration.

    • They are the perfect weekend muffin Katie! They aren’t too sweet and I’ve been enjoying them with a little cheese. It’s heavenly.

  2. My daughter and I are baking up a new muffin recipe each and every Monday this year and I think we’ve found next Monday’s muffin. These sound really good! Thanks for sharing, ~Lisa

    • What a wonderful idea! You must have a fantastic collection of recipes. I hope you enjoy these. We definitely did and will be making them again!

  3. Wow, baklava muffins – what a genius idea!

    • Thanks for stopping by Erica! I also think the idea is genius and this might be why I try to stay away from that cookbook. There is so much in it that is delicious!

  4. I love these muffins. A friend brought them to a women’s ministry meeting a few years ago, and it has been in my muffin go to recipes since then. Thank you for posting this!

    Liz

    http://www.fresh-plate.blogspot.com

  5. Baklava muffins? That just screams delicious!

  6. Ok – I’m actually running to the store tonight & will pick up the ingredients I need to try these out. So, here’s my question. Do you still have the original (less healthy) version of the recipe? Are the amounts of everything (i.e. – flour & sugar) the same as you used in your version?

    • I hope you enjoy them Karen! The sugar was just plain white sugar in the same amounts. For the flour she called for 1 cup plus 7 tbsp of all purpose flour. Let me know how they turn out. We’ve loved them!

  7. Nigella Lawsons cookbooks are dangerous. She really know what works and what doesn’t. I am looking forward to trying these someday. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks for stopping by Marianne! Nigella does seem to know her way around baked goods. It’s very dangerous! I hope you enjoy them when you try them. 🙂

  8. Oh boy, biting into your muffins would be a real treat. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till tomorrow night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-20.html

  9. Your baklava muffins look wonderful. I love Nigella’s recipes. I’ve just won tickets to an evening at the Criterion Theatre in London to see her on Sunday night and I’m so excited! Thank you for linking up to Feed Me Tweet Me Follow Me Home last week. Hope to see you again this week 🙂 Have a lovely weekend!

    • Thanks April! I’m sure the evening with Nigella will be wonderful. I’d love to see her and hear her thoughts on food, recipes and life! Have fun! 🙂

  10. Thanks so much for sharing this at Sweets for a Saturday. I hope you’ll be able to join in again.

Leave a reply

