Love Wins

I finally finished Love Wins by Rob Bell.

I started it when it first came out but couldn’t finish it.  I needed some time to let the cries quiet.  I wanted to be able to read it without agenda or outside influence.

The book is well written and thoughtful.  It addresses questions a lot of people have, and I think that’s a good thing.  As people of faith, we should question.  It helps us to grow and discover more about the kingdom of God.  Jesus encourages growth constantly through parables that challenge people’s perceptions and ideals.  He wanted people to move beyond what they knew into a realm of greater possibility.

While I may not agree with everything presented in this book it was a great read as it caused me to think about my own beliefs regarding heaven, hell and salvation.  It was incredibly engaging and a great time of reflection for me.

Honestly the thing that concerns me most about the book is not it’s contents.  It is the Christian response to it.  We are our own worst enemies.  The anger and hostility Rob Bell faced upon the release of this book is troubling.  His questions should be allowed.  He should be given the space to discover for himself what he believes of Jesus and when the Christian community does not allow this and speaks out against it, I have to wonder what this means for our future.

We are wasting valuable energy fighting with one another.  Ultimately we are all looking for the same thing, answers.  Answers for questions about what comes next,  what we should be doing now and why we’re here in the first place.  None of us have all the answers but we do have one important truth.  That truth, in the form of Jesus and his message needs to be shared.

I do believe in the end that love wins.  I think Jesus is love, God’s love.  Sent as a message of hope for a broken world.  Sent to repair it by breaking the cycle of despair and distance.  Love wins by reconciling us with God.  The action of Jesus’s death and resurrection is love winning.  That message is a message worth sharing.  That message is one that needs to get out there.   It’s time for us to realize that that is the most important thing and our petty disagreements and angry dialogue are getting in the way of that most important task.

4 responses to “Love Wins

  1. Becky,

    I too picked this book up but haven’t yet had an opportunity to read past the first chapter…I am looking forward to it. Thank you for (as always) your thoughtful response.

  2. I appreciated this thoughtful and insightful review! I haven’t read the book, but did hear some of the controversy surrounding it.

Leave a reply

