Navy Bean and Spinach Dip

X. is currently on a protein strike.  It’s gotten so bad that in the last few weeks he gave up his one true love, chicken.  It’s been devastating.  Luckily for me he still likes beans.  As part of our my journey towards better health, I’ve been incorporating beans into our diet as they are a healthy, vegetarian source of protein and their loaded with fiber.  We all love them and I’m glad that X. is still a fan.

Beyond the usual salads, stews and soups, one way we’ve been eating beans is in the form of dips.   We adore Hummus and I love Giada DeLaurentis’ White Bean Dip.  Lately though, I’ve been experimenting with dips of my own.  We love this stuff.  It’s great to serve at parties, for lunch, or as a snack mid-afternoon.  There seems to be no ending of ways to serve it.  Cut up some veggies, throw some crackers on a tray or get a great crusty bread to serve beside it.  Anyway you choose bean dip is always an excellent option.  It’s a simple, healthy and nutritious choice.

This week I whipped together a batch of my own Navy Bean and Spinach Dip. It’s something I created to sneak a few extra nutrients into X’s diet and let’s face it, it doesn’t hurt me either.  Loaded with spinach and beans it’s a well rounded snack for those on the go.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of navy beans
  • I small box of baby spinach.
  • 1/4 c olive oil
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • Drain and rinse the navy beans
  • Put the baby spinach into the food processor and process until it’s a almost a puree.
  • Add the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and beans to the spinach.
  • Process until smooth.
  • Taste the dip and add salt and pepper to your liking.  Blend well to ensure even distribution.
  • Cool in fridge until ready to eat.
Extra Information
  • This makes loads! Enough for lunch for 2 every day if you’re so inclined. There are three of us so we go through it fairly quickly but if you’d like to scale it back, feel free.
  • This is great with pita chips or with Mary’s Organic Crackers (they don’t pay me to say this – I just love their crackers). We’ve enjoyed it both ways.
  • The dips is pretty green (due to the spinach). As a result I think it would look lovely in a hollowed out pumpernickle loaf with bread for dipping. Just an entertainment idea we’re floating around for our next party.
Enjoy! 
Leave a reply

