Progress: in 5 parts {and Cherry Chocolate Energy Balls in case you’re hungry}

It’s that time of year again.  When we’re made to feel guilty.  When books come out saying we need to lost 28 pounds in 28 days.  When we are told we’re not good enough.  When we’re told we’ve got to become something else.

As I’ve been bombarded by media lately I’ve really done a lot of thinking about why I want to change.  Why do I want to reshape my life?  In what ways am I already healthy?  What do I have to change to get healthier?

For the last couple of weeks I’ve made lists on what I’d like to change.  This week I’ve tweaked it.  No longer about what I’d like to change, it’s a list of my progress.   While I may not be perfect, I’m doing alright and that’s a good thing.

Progress (in 5 parts)

  1. Snacks have been hard but I’ve focused on getting in two healthy snacks each day.  I’ve included a recipe below of energy balls that have been helpful for me.
  2. Having a set schedule for gym time has made things much easier.  I know I’m going and I enjoy the hour guilt free as it was booked in.
  3. I really do struggle with balance and have realized that I must prioritize.  I’ll be working on this, this week.
  4. Sleep eludes me at times.  It’s something all mothers struggle with but I am getting better at going to bed earlier and getting up a little later.
  5. My love affair with caffeine is nearly over {see below}.
I know I have a tendency to neglect myself when things get too busy.  I decided to use vacation as a time to add some good habits that hopefully I’ll keep in the routine when things get busy again.  I read that drinking Lemon water in the morning would help to get the digestive tract working, detoxify and just generally help your body feel better so I thought I would give it a shot.  I’m glad I did.
 
An unexpected side effect of the Lemon water for me was a drastic reduction in the amount of coffee I need to feel alert throughout the day.  I’m down to one (maybe one and a half) now and I feel great.  At times I admit I’m still tired but I no longer have that groggy worn down feeling.   I’m quite pleased. Another interesting thing to note is that I’ve lost 3 pounds since introducing this into my diet.  I haven’t really changed what I’ve been eating (as I was eating well already) and I’m not sure why it’s happened but I’m okay with it. This is one tip that has definitely helped me feel better so I thought I’d pass it along.  

Lemon Water:
Combine the juice of one lemon (or approximately 3 tbsp of lemon juice) with one large glass of water. Drink first thing in the morning when you wake up.

Also, to combat my tendencies to skip snacks and regret it later, I made some energy balls for the week.   These are slightly different than my original Dark Chocolate Energy Balls as they are nut free and contain more ingredients.  They possess a slightly sweet, crunchy texture and are quite delicious.  I enjoy these with a cup of green tea mid afternoon throughout the week.  

Chocolate Cherry Energy Balls 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c millet
  • 1/2 c raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1 c shredded coconut
  • 1 1/2 c dark chocolate chips
  • 2 scant c dried cherries
  • 3 tbsp chia seeds
  • 3 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
Instructions:
  • Combine all ingredients in a food processor.
  • Process until it possesses a small crumbly texture.  Do not allow mixture to get too fine.
  • Roll the mixture into balls and place on a cookie sheet in the fridge overnight.
  • In the morning transfer to an airtight container and store in the fridge.
Extra Information:
  • These are gluten free, nut free and vegan.  If you have allergies in your family or are looking to serve friends a snack these are a good choice. 
  • Feel free to substitute ingredients.  If you’re not a fan of raw grains but would like an energy ball option try my Dark Chocolate Energy Balls. They are made with nuts, fruit and chocolate.  An excellent alternative.

7 responses to “Progress: in 5 parts {and Cherry Chocolate Energy Balls in case you’re hungry}

  1. Congrats on the progress!
    I will definitely be trying the chocolate nut balls – they look delicious, and I think they’ll satisfy my chocolate cravings while getting some good, nourishing ingredients in me.

  2. These really do look delicious! Where do you find ingredients like millet, chia seeds, and flax seeds? I’ve never even heard of chia seeds before!

    I may need to try your lemon water suggestion too. I drink so much coffee in the morning to get myself going and I STILL don’t have the energy/stamina I need to get through the day.

    Congratulations on all the healthy choices you are making. You are an inspiration!

    • Thanks Karen! I found the ingredients at various places. I went to the Bulk Barn, the Health Food Store and the regular grocery store. Usually they are found in the Natural Food Section. I’ve read good things about Chia Seeds and so far I really like them in the granola!

      The lemon water is wonderful! I feel more refreshed and have definitely cut way back on caffeine.

      Thanks for saying I’m an inspiration. I’m just trucking along reading far too many healthy living magazines! It’s a bit of a problem. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Chocolate-Hazelnut Spread | From Ministry to Motherhood

Leave a reply

