Homemade Granola

I’m tired of snow.  I’m looking forward to spring and summer weather.  I long for capris and flip flops.  I want to wear sundresses and play with my son at the beach. There’s so much to I want to do this year!  There’s so much fun waiting for us. If I’m honest I also want to look good while doing these things.

I think we all want to look our best when summer rolls around and this granola is one way I’m hoping to achieve that!  Right after I had X. and was looking for healthier food choices to help me lose some weight this was one of the recipes I relied on regularly.  I found it kept me full until lunch and I had energy (something I’ve been lacking lately).   Filled with good carbs, protein rich nuts and seeds and an abundance of fiber it’s really the perfect breakfast.  It’s delicious mixed with some plain yogurt but could be used in so many different ways.  Enjoy!

Homemade Granola

Ingredients:

  • 8 C Large Flake Oats
  • 3 C Slivered Almonds
  • 3 C Shredded Coconut
  • 1.5 C Raw Sunflower Seeds
  • 1.5 C Raw Pumpkin Seeds
  • 1 C Flax Seeds
  • 1/2 C Chia Seeds
  • 1/2 C Wheat Germ
  • 1 C Coconut Oil
  • 1 C Honey
  • 1 C Maple Syrup
  • 1 tbsp Cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp Vanilla
  • 1 C diced dried Mangos
  • 1 C dried Cherries
  • 1 C dried Cranberries

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  • Line two cookie sheets with aluminum foil and spray lightly with cooking spray.  Set aside.
  • In a very large bowl (or two large bowls) combine the oats, almonds, seeds, and wheat germ.  Mix well.
  • In a sauce pan combine the maple syrup, honey, cinnamon, vanilla and coconut oil.  Warm the mixture over medium heat and stir occasionally until the coconut oil is melted.
  • Pour the syrup mixture over the dry mixture and mix until it is completely coated.
  • Divide the granola mixture evenly over the two cookie sheets.
  • Place a cookie sheet in the oven for 15 minutes.
  • Remove from the oven and stir the mixture.
  • Place back in the oven again for 10 minutes.
  • Remove from the oven and set on the counter to cool for 5 minutes.
  • After 5 minutes transfer the mixture to a bowl to completely cool.
  • Repeat this process with the second cookie sheet.
  • Once the mixture is completely cool mix in the dried fruit.
  • Place in resealable container.

Extra Information:

  • One of the things I love about this recipe is that it’s not super crunchy.  It is crispy and chewy at the same time.  When it comes out of the oven it will still be a little wet and you might be tempted to throw it back in but I urge you to give it time to rest.  As it cools it will crisp up but still retain a chewy quality.   If you like crispy granola feel free to cook it a little longer.
  • If you don’t have certain seeds or ingredients feel free to substitute whatever you like.  I happen to love almonds but walnuts or other nuts would work just as well.  I just use whatever dried fruit I happen to have at home and have used raisins in the past in place of cranberries. Make it your own.  Every time it can be something unique and different.
  • This recipe make a lot of granola. I make a lot at once because it keeps well and is so easy to grab for breakfast or a snack that I like to have it around. It can be easily cut in half and that’s definitely an option if you don’t think you want enough for a week or so.
  • If you don’t have maple syrup around feel free to substitute brown sugar.  This will make the syrup mixture much thicker and will make it harder to mix in but it’s still very tasty and worth the work.

Gluten Free Option:

If you need a gluten free breakfast option this can work for you.   First of all ensure you use certified gluten free oats.  Then instead of wheat germ substitute ground flax seed for a similar texture.  Also double check to make sure your vanilla is gluten free and everything should work out okay.   I’ve made it this way before and it’s quite delicious!

A Journey through Lent: Day 27

5 responses to “Homemade Granola

  1. Hi, Becky! Thanks for stopping by my blog! This granola sounds heavenly, I can’t wait to try it!! My family loves homemade granola. It looks like it makes a huge batch, too. I’m following you on facebook now!

    • I hope you like the granola. We love it! It makes a huge batch and it keeps well. We like to have it on hand.

      Thanks for the follow and for stopping by!

  2. Hey thanks for visiting me from the Blog party! Can’t wait to look around your site a little more 🙂 And Mmmm! This looks good. I love granola 🙂

    Jami @Intentionally Living
    jamibalmet.blogspot.com

  3. Pingback: Here’s the plan… | From Ministry to Motherhood

Leave a reply

