The death of Christianity?

This week as I was wasting time on Twitter I noticed a post by @Cnieuwhof that said “In case you missed it. The Church in Canada is predicted to be extinct in 100 years.” Intrigued, I clicked the link to his blog and found his thoughts on a study reported by CNN regarding the decline of religion in Western society.

This prediction is not surprising to me. People just aren’t coming. I have friends who’d rather be anywhere else than Church on Sunday morning. There’s so much out there that’s better in their eyes.

There is a way we could deal with this. We could begin to offer something that has value. Something that reaches the needs of the community. Something that serves families and offers something of value for all ages. We could change. The question that lingers in my mind is will we?

“Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me and for the gospel will save it.” (Mark 8:34-35 NIV)

Maybe as a Church we’ve fallen victim to what Jesus warns us against. In our efforts to save our comforts we’ve lost the point of why we exist, we’re supposed share the Gospel with the world.

It’s time to get out there, to see what’s going on. It’s time to find the places and people God is calling us to minister to. It’s time to let go. We must let go of our past and move into our future with Christ.

Will we?

[This morning as I was going looking at blogs in the quiet of a house not yet awake I found Carey’s updated thoughts on this issue, his thoughts on why the Church won’t die and what it will look like. I think it’s fantastic way to look at the mission of the future Church. Check it out if you have a chance: Why the Church Won’t Die]

A Journey through Lent: Day 22

2 responses to “The death of Christianity?

  1. Hi Becky. Another thought provoking post. As a side note, I’m curious if you are still reading the ‘Love Wins’ book. I have not read it, but I’m seeing a lot of interesting writing in response to it (some pro, some con). I’m wondering what your take is on it so far. And, I thought I’d share the link to this review (it’s lengthy) that I found. http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/kevindeyoung/files/2011/03/LoveWinsReview.pdf

    Lots to think & pray about.

    • I am reading it. I got through chapter one and am now stewing on it. I’ll get there. It’s probably going to require a few hours this weekend on the couch with a hot chocolate but I don’t think it’ll take me too long.

      I”m not sure yet what I think. It’s an easy read but I’m still in the early stages so I’ll let you know when I get further in! Must go check out that link – Thanks!

Leave a reply

