Healthier Potato Skins

Last week our family was sick.   We lived off of chicken soup, crackers and pineapples.  It wasn’t fun.  As we started to get better I began to crave food with substance.  Something delicious and filling.  I hadn’t wanted to eat in a while and I needed something good.

One of my guilty pleasures are Potato Skins. I love them. When we go out to dinner sometimes I am tempted to order them for dinner instead of an entree. In my quest to live healthfully I have pretty much cut these out.  They’re just not something that fits well in a healthy eating plan.   On Friday I decided to make them at home. I wanted to make them less greasy, cut down on some fat and keep them flavorful. I think I succeeded. I hope you enjoy this healthy treat!  We loved them and will definitely be making them again.

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium russet potatoes
  • 1 c shredded low fat cheddar cheddar cheese
  • 2 tbsp bacon bits
  • BBQ sauce
  • Canola Oil

Instructions:

  • Bake the potatoes in the oven at 350 for approximately 1 hr or until they are soft when poked with a fork.
  • Remove from oven and allow to cook until you can handle them.
  • Once the potatoes can be handled cut them in half and hollow them out until there is about 1/2 a centimeter of potato left inside the shell.
  • Spread a small amount of Canola oil over the potatoes (inside and out).
  • Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil.
  • Place the potato shells on the cookie sheet, cut side up on the cookie sheet and place in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until they are just golden brown at 475 in the middle of the oven.
  • Once the potatoes are golden brown you can begin filling the shells.  Place 1 tsp of BBQ Sauce in each shell.  Sprinkle a tiny amount of bacon bits into each shell.  Top with the shredded cheese.
  • Place the potatoes back into the oven until the cheese has melted.
  • Remove and enjoy!

Extra Information:

  • Watch the potatoes as the shells are browning to ensure they don’t burn.  In your oven it may take more or less time to crisp them.
  • The low-fat cheese was an excellent choice!  These were much less greasy and I did have a little extra cheese left over in the end.  You can just add enough to lightly cover the potato and they taste great.
  • These where inspired by Boston Pizza’s Southwest Potato Skins.  They add diced chicken to theirs and it is delicious.   I’m going to try that the next time I make these.
  • Feel free to play around with the ingredients.  Use salsa and cheddar or try pizza sauce with pepperoni and mozzarella.   You can try just about anything and as long as you like the combination, they’ll turn out great.

A Journey through Lent: Day 20

7 responses to “Healthier Potato Skins

  1. Hey!!!!

    I am going to make these for Paul and I! They look amazing!!
    – Megan

  2. Thanks for sharing this! I’ve never made potato skins before, but I love eating them 🙂 I’m going to make these for the kids.

    I came over from Feed Me, Tweet Me, Follow Me Home.

    My blog is http://nurturedfamilylife.blogspot.com

    I’d love for you to stop by sometime!

  3. I LOVE potatoe skins!! Im your new follower from McFatty Mondays 🙂

  4. I hope you are all feeling much better now. Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe with Feed Me Tweet Me Follow Me Home Friday last week. It sounds just scrumptious – I love potato skins too!

    This weeks Feed Me Tweet Me linky is now up so I do hope you will come along and link up again if you haven’t already 🙂 Have a lovely weekend!

Leave a reply

