5 ways to use Stewed Rhubarb

The lost art of stewed fruit is tragic.  Too often we fret over what to serve for dessert when this timeless classic is available and tasty.   Today as my family has been hit with a nasty virus I wanted to make something warm and inviting.  Something that would soothe and comfort as we fought our way back to health.   I pulled some rhubarb out of the freezer and set about making some stewed rhubarb.  My mother used to make it for us on spring mornings when we desired something other than porridge.  Served warm with a slice of toast it was a decadent start to the day.

As I was making ours this morning I started thinking about all the different ways we use Stewed Rhubarb.

  1. Serve it up warm in a bowl with some toast for breakfast.
  2. Drizzle it on some ice cream or frozen yogurt for a tasty treat.
  3. Drizzle it on your oatmeal to jazz up a boring breakfast.
  4. Substitute it for syrup on your pancakes or waffles.
  5. Spread it on biscuits like jam.

There are so many things you can do with Stewed Rhubarb.  It’s delicious, quick and so easy.  If you’ve never tried it I encourage you to give it a shot this spring.  It may seem old fashioned but it’s incredibly tasty.

Stewed Rhubarb

Ingredients:

  • A bunch of Rhubarb (5-6 stalks will do)
  • white sugar
  • water

Instructions:

  • Clean the Rhubarb well.
  • Cut of the rough ends and discard.
  • Chop the Rhubarb into 1″ pieces.
  • Place the chopped Rhubarb into a large pot.
  • Add water to the bottom of the pot about 1/3 of the way up the Rhubarb pile.
  • Place the pot on the stove and cook on high until the water is boiling.
  • Once the water has come to a boil turn it down to medium.
  • Stir frequently.
  • As the Rhubarb cooks it will begin to separate and the liquid will thicken.
  • Once you’ve reached the desired consistency begin adding sugar 1/8-1/4 of a cup at a time until you reach your desired sweetness.
  • Mix well.
  • Remove from heat.
  • Allow the Rhubarb to cool before transferring to storage containers.
  • Eat hot or cold and be sure to enjoy!

Extra Information:

  • The sweetness really is up to you.  I like mine a little on the tart side so I tend not to use a lot of sugar.  Others like it a lot sweeter. Be sure to taste frequently and adjust until it’s your desired taste.
  • Rhubarb freezes well and this is very easy to make if you’ve chopped and frozen Rhubarb in advance.  If you happen upon some Rhubarb this spring and cannot use it all, freeze the extra and you can make yourself tasty treats all winter long.

A Journey through Lent: Day 14

4 responses to “5 ways to use Stewed Rhubarb

  1. I thought of you the other day as I looked out the window and saw that my rhubarb is starting to push up through the ground. I remembered that you said you really like rhubarb. This year I definitely need to find some more ways to use it. Last year’s almost all went to waste (I also had an infant last year, so a lot of things didn’t get done).

    But, seeing that bowl of stewed rhubarb is so tempting – warm, tart, comforting.

    P.S. – Sometimes we stew some strawberries with our rhubarb. Those two are made for each other!

    • I do love Rhubarb and you are right, Strawberries and Rhubarb are made for each other. I use Rhubarb in all kinds of ways. I made a Rhubarb Jam last year that was delicious and I love Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp (and pie!). Our local nursery called me this week to confirm that I wanted some Rhubarb to plant in my garden and I’m quite excited. I’m finally getting my own patch!

      I can’t believe your plants are already poking through. It won’t be long and you’ll be able to enjoy some! Thanks for thinking of me. 🙂

  2. I absolutely love stewed rhubarb but haven’t made it in ages! Thank you for reminding me of this healthy, comforting and delicious classic!

Leave a reply

