Whole Grain Pancakes

To live healthfully is to make changes.  I’ve made many changes over the last few years.  I have a tendency to eat the same breakfast and lunch throughout the week to help me maintain or lose some weight.  I’ve tried to cut back on certain things I love (like cheese) and really focus on things that make me feel fantastic (loads of fresh produce, whole grains and tons of water).   It’s all been beneficial. I’ve lost weight, feel much better and generally find life is pretty good.

If there was one area I could point to that is holding me back in my quest for a healthy life, I’d have to say it’s breakfast.  I have a love affair with Pancakes that is unnatural.  Every time we go out to breakfast I have to order them.  I compare and contrast flavors.  I question some restaurants choice of syrup and I know that every time I eat them I shouldn’t.  After all it’s basically cake in a pan like the name says. Nothing healthy about them.  Nothing nutritionally rewarding.

Today I bring you good news from the breakfast front.  I’ve found the most delicious pancakes in the world and they are healthy.  Make these immediately (or wait until tomorrow night as it’s Shrove Tuesday and all).  You’ll delight in the flavor and texture.   They are spicy, sweet and if I’m honest they taste a little like a muffin. Heaven in a pan.   They are everything a Pancake should be.  I love that you can eat them without guilt. Loaded with whole grains they are the perfect breakfast treat in a healthy eating plan.

Here’s what ours looked like this morning:

Once again this recipe is courtesy of Chef Michael Smith and you can find the original here.  If you haven’t checked out his website I strongly recommend it.  It’s filled with fantastic recipes that will be sure to delight your family.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C All Purpose Flour
  • 1 C Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 C Large Flake Oatmeal
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 c milk
  • 1/4 c vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Instructions:

  • Preheat your pan or griddle and lightly oil it to prevent sticking.
  • Mix together the dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Set aside.
  • Whisk together the wet ingredients in a smaller bowl until well combined.
  • With a large spoon mix the wet and dry ingredients together until batter is smooth.
  • Place small amounts of the mixture onto your pan.
  • Cook them until they are 2/3 -3/4 of the way cooked on the first side.  Flip and finish.
  • Serve with maple syrup or whatever other topping you enjoy.

Extra Information:

  • These aren’t like your usual pancakes.  I did not find they bubbled while cooking so I watched much as I would a fish fillet and made sure they were cooked most of the way through before flipping.
  • If you keep your pan on medium-medium high heat you will have much more control with these pancakes.  They take longer than your usual ones but it’s worth the wait.  The lower temperature prevents burning and gives you a much tastier breakfast.
  • Do not be afraid of the large flake oatmeal in your pancakes.  I was at first but they melt right in and add to the texture nicely.
  • These are really filling.  The recipe says it will serve 4 but depending on the crowd it might serve 6.

Enjoy!

Leave a reply

