Our Healthy Lunch: A Curried Carrot Soup

I am lazy.  I love to eat the same thing every day for lunch.  It’s great for healthy living as if I plan it right I can have a weeks worth of healthy food that I can turn to without too much thought.  I made this soup last week for my lunch and it lasted a day and a half.  We ate it for dinner because it smelled so good and had it the next day as well.   I’m going to have to make another pot for this week!

It’s a soup I make regularly because it’s quick, tasty and delicious.   My son also adores it so it’s a great way to get him to eat some vegetables.   It was inspired by the Rachael Ray Recipe for Curried Carrot Soup but it’s evolved and changed as I’ve made it over the years.  I hope you enjoy it!

Curried Carrot Soup

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 3-4 medium onions roughly chopped.
  • 3-3.5 pounds of baby carrots
  • 8 cups of chicken broth (approx. 2 boxes)
  • 2 tbsp curry powder

Instructions:

  • Brown the onions in the olive oil until nice and soft in a large pot.
  • Add the carrots and broth to the pot and bring to a boil.
  • Turn the mixture down to medium and cook until the carrots are soft.
  • Blend the mixture until it it creamy with no lumps left.
  • Add the curry powder while stirring (to ensure the powder doesn’t clump).
  • Serve!

Extra Information:

  • If you want a nice surprise put a little goat cheese in the bottom of the bowl before pouring your soup on it.  It’s delicious!
  • This is a great gluten free option if you ensure the broth and curry powder are gluten free.
  • I have been known to beef up the curry as I like a little spice.
  • If you really want to speed up the cooking you can buy the matchstick carrots.  This makes an easy soup even easier.
One response to “Our Healthy Lunch: A Curried Carrot Soup

  1. Okay…this looks & sounds yummy! I’m going to have to try it! thanks for the recipe…I’ve been on the hunt for easy & healthy recipes lately!

Leave a reply

