Roasted Cauliflower, Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

I love soup.  Soup is a wonderful, delightful meal.  Something that if done well can delight the senses, warm the body and soothe the soul.

In our house, soup is often a resurrection of sorts.  Every couple of days I go through my fridge to make sure no food is left behind.  While doing this I often find left over veggies.   Making a batch of soup brings new life to these vegetables and rescues them from a place in the garbage bin. This dish was born on such a day.   Over time this soup has evolved.  I’ve cut back on the cheese, changed up the broth and added more or less vegetable depending on what was available.   It’s the kind of forgiving dish that we can all use around the kitchen.  The healthy kind that shows our families how much we love and care for them.

Enjoy!

Roasted Cauliflower, Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 large head of cauliflower
  • 2 bunches of broccoli
  • 2-3 onions
  • 4-6 cloves of garlic
  • 8 cups of beef broth (approximately 2 boxes @ 900 ml each or 32 oz each)
  • 1 1/2 c cheddar cheese grated
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Instructions:

  • Heat the oven to 400 degrees
  • Slice the cauliflower into thin strips or small bunches.
  • Chop the onion.
  • Peel and slice garlic into two or three pieces.
  • Place the cauliflower, onion and garlic in a large bowl.  Coat with Olive Oil.
  • Place the cauliflower mixture on a cooking sheet in the middle of the oven for approximately 45-60 minutes.
  • While the cauliflower mixture is roasting cut the broccoli and place it in a pot on the stove with beef stock.  Bring to a boil, then turn it down to medium.  Cook until tender.
  • When the cauliflower mixture is soft and brown pull out.  Add to the broccoli beef broth mixture.
  • Blend the soup (I used an immersion blender but a regular blender will do the trick)
  • Add the Cheddar Cheese.  Stir until melted.
  • Season with Salt and Pepper.

Extra Information:

We delight in this meal and have had it in many forms.  Originally it was made with chicken stock but one day I had none, so I substituted beef stock and we liked it even better.  I find the beef adds a richer, fuller flavor to the soup.  I like to use old cheddar in this but I’ve used many different types and they’ve all turned out well. This dish doubles really well and warms up quite nicely.  I love to have it for lunch the next day.  I hope you enjoy.

6 responses to “Roasted Cauliflower, Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

  1. Oh that sounds SO good. It would be one of those dishes that I would love but the boys would probably judge unfairly before tasting. I may just need to make it anyway.

    • You’re probably right Karen, your boys might judge it unfairly. I admit it probably is something most kids would turn their noses up at but it’s so good! I hope you do get a chance to make it and enjoy. I love it and eat it for lunch quite regularly!

  2. Becky: Thanks for stopping by on my blog and for your comment regarding healthy eating!!
    Speaking of which, this soup looks awesome!! I might have to try that this week 🙂

    Clare

    • Thanks for dropping by here Clare! I love your blog and was pleased to read about healthy eating. It’s something we should discuss more!

      The soup is quite tasty. I hope you like it!

  3. I will be making this one for sure..my husband LOVES cream of cauliflower soup (I will have to leave out the broccoli because he wont eat it…but if it were up to me I would leave AS IS) Thank you so much for sharing this on Comfy’s site..Love to you Becky, Janelle

    • I hope you love it Janelle! I’m sure it would be wonderful just as a Cauliflower Soup. I’ll have to try that sometime. 🙂

Leave a reply

