The day after…

This morning I’m re-posting my favorite baked oatmeal as I think we all need a cleanse after this past weekend!  Food and football go hand in hand.  Unfortunately the food isn’t always the best for us.  If I were a cleansing type of gal I would have gotten up and started the Master Cleanse this morning but I’m really not into that kind of thing.  I prefer to cleanse with healthy foods that get my nutritional profile back on target.

This breakfast was just what the doctor ordered.  If you need to refocus and are looking for a healthy start to the day I highly recommend this recipe.   You’ll have tons of energy to start your day and feel great.  I hope you enjoy!

The original recipe this is based on came from The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook by Tosca Reno.  I substitute unsweetened applesauce for a shredded apple because I prefer my hot cereal to be creamier and I always beef up the vanilla. Vanilla just warms up a dish in my opinion. If you’re in the market for a healthy recipe book that everyone in your family will enjoy this is one I would highly recommend. Everything we’ve tried from this book has been delicious.

Baked Oatmeal

  • 2 c large flake oatmeal
  • 2 c skim milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/2 c dried cranberries or cherries
  • 1/2 c slivered almonds
  • 1 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 4 tbsp maple syrup (you can substitute brown sugar)

Instructions:

  • Heat oven to 400
  • Mix all ingredients together in a bowl
  • Pour into an oven proof baking dish.  If you spray the dish with cooking spray the cleanup is a lot easier.
  • Bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes.

Extra Information:

This dish usually serves 4-6 people and can be doubled or tripled as necessary.  I often pair this dish with scrambled eggs and whole grain toast when we have company and it makes a nice breakfast for everyone.   One of my favorite things about this particular breakfast dish is that it keeps well in the fridge.  If I make some on Monday I usually have breakfast ready for Tuesday without much effort.  I say usually because besides being a tasty breakfast it also makes a nice snack.

I hope you enjoy this breakfast!  It’s one of our favorites.

4 responses to “The day after…

  1. LOVE oatmeal.

    I have a similar one with pumpkin that is so scrumptious & filling!

  2. We love baked oatmeal, but our recipe is a bit different. I like how easy it is to change up the ingredients. I’m visiting from {in}courage as a new follower.

    • Isn’t it funny how baked oatmeal can be made is so many different ways? One of my favorites involves peanut butter. Mmmm.
      Thanks for stopping by Jenny!

Leave a reply

