Are you content?

I have a little secret.   My bookshelves are lined with nutrition books.  The crazy self-help books that talk about how to fuel your body to achieve maximum health and wellness.   I’ve read just about every theory from blueberries being good for your brain to green tea boosting your metabolism.  When a new book comes out I head to the bookstore and pre-read it.  I’ll think about it and if it’s really interesting I’ll probably bring it home.   The thing I’ve found after reading them all is they usually say the same thing, eat real food.  (Those three words just summed up about 20 books on my bookshelf.  I just saved you a lot of money and time.)

If these books all say the same thing, why do I keep reading them?  I’m not the only one.  Self-help is a huge section in the bookstore.  There’s information on everything from dieting to dating.  It would seem like no one is satisfied.  No one is content.

This week while I was preparing for Sunday Worship I did some thinking about the following verse:

“You’re blessed when you’re content with just who you are — no more, no less.  That’s the moment you find yourselves proud owners of everything that can’t be bought.” (Matthew 5:5 – The Message)

This is something I’ve been struggling with.  It’s hard to be content.  It’s easy to fall into the trap of wanting to be something your not.  After all millions of dollars are spent each year on surgery, books, lotions, pills and more to create that ‘perfect’ person we want to be.  But why?  Why do we do this.

Contentment it tricky business.  It doesn’t mean complacent.  It means accepting.  Are we happy?  Are we really happy with who we are.  As people it’s okay to change.  We’re supposed to grow.  We’re supposed to transition in life.  But through it all we need to be content with who we fundamentally are.  God created us.  God gave us the gift of who we are.  We need to accept it.  We need to embrace it.  We need to live it.

When we are content, we find opportunity.  When we live in fear, we find road blocks and failure.  We need to stop comparing ourselves to others and just be ourselves. While I may not possess the grace, talent or skills of others I do possess my own unique traits.  I can be the best Becky I can be.  I’ve been given my gifts and I need to use them in grateful thanksgiving.

Our world is constantly tells us that we aren’t enough.  Jesus tells us that we are. Today I choose to listen to Jesus.  It’s enough to be me.  It’s enough to be who God created me to be.

2 responses to “Are you content?

  1. stumbled upon your blog and i just wanted to say thank you- this whole idea of contentment vs. compacency has been huge on my mind. this post was a great reminder, so thank you 🙂

    • Thanks K. Contentment vs. complacency is something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately (as I’m sure you can tell!). I’m glad the post was useful to you.

Leave a reply

