It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life….

We’ve had an interesting start to 2011.  We woke up this morning to a world full of promise.  It was raining and the snow was melting away.  It all looked fresh and clean, like spring was coming.  I was looking forward to a run on my treadmill this afternoon and maybe a walk outdoors if it cleared up.  It was all meant to be healthy, refreshing and a new start.  Then my husband found flooding in the basement.

Everything is cleaned up now.  We’re now waiting for the restoration people to come in and dry the floors.  I started out the day happy and relaxed, then proceeded to stressed and am now feeling oddly at peace.   I’ve done some thinking about things and really it’s not that bad.  I could choose to dwell in the negative but instead I am choosing to look at things differently.  As my Dad put it so eloquently “Becky, sometimes these things happen to remind us that we aren’t in charge, God is.”

God is in charge.  God is in charge today, tomorrow and the next.  When things happen that seem overwhelming and frustrating we need to put them in God’s hands.  We need to trust that things will be ok.  Today I had to turn it over to God.  I had to let go and so far it’s working out as it should.  As I sat down tonight and opened my Bible (to keep my commitment to read more) I found Matthew 6.  A section on prayer.  A topic we are meant to be studying this week.  So tonight I sat and poured over the words.  These words really spoke to me today:

“…for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.”

God knows what I need.   Apparently I needed a flood (really?).  I could have done without the flood but maybe I did need something to catch my attention. Life moves quickly and when we get into routines it’s easy to forget who provided us with our blessings.  Maybe I needed to be reminded that life doesn’t always go as planned, that I’m not in control, maybe discernment won’t be as easy as I thought and perhaps God has something interesting (and unexpected) in store.   I have a tendency to plan things to death.  I like to know what’s coming.  It’s events like those that happen today that remind me I really have no control, I’m never sure what’s coming and all I can do is deal with life as it happens.

Who knows what will happen next.  It could be an interesting year.   I hope you’ll join me for the journey.

Leave a reply

