Resolutions

There will be no resolutions for me this year.   Before you get excited it’s not because there aren’t things about myself that I’d like to change, there are.  The thing is when I make a resolution to begin something fresh on January 1, by the middle of the afternoon I’ve already forgotten it.  I find the resolution situation rather stressful.  I never know exactly how to approach it and so I forget it, and move on.

Instead of resolving to change on January 1 I’ve decided to change starting today.  I’d love to live a healthier life. I need to be committed to treating myself and my body well so that I can continue to be of service to others.  Let’s not forget that I’m also vain.  I’d like to lose those last 10-15 pounds.  I’d like to feel pretty and wear nice dresses.  Who am I kidding? I’m not completely focused yet.

Because I am a person who needs a plan to get things rolling, I’ve decided that Wednesday’s shall be about wellness here on the blog.  Not necessarily wellness in the traditional sense.  You likely won’t see a chart for how many miles I’ve logged or what I ate for the past week but you might find some healthy recipes, some different healthy living ideas and general thoughts on how to integrate spirituality into everyday activity and life.   I need to be healthy in body and in spirit.  One or the other doesn’t cut it.

Yesterday I posted my goals for this week and I’m posting them again now.  I need to make the commitment to my healthy and I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve already failed at two of the three goals today.   Right now I’m preparing for a funeral so my mind has been on things other than taking care of myself (and rightfully so). Nevertheless I need to work on taking care of myself too.

Here are my goals:   

  • I will meditate, read and pray daily.
  • I am committed to using my treadmill at least 3 times this week.
  • I will set aside some time for my family, my friends or myself each day.

Today I begin.  I plan to check back next Wednesday for a progress update and hopefully have some helpful tips for all of us to lead healthier, more whole lives.   If you have some helpful tips please post them in the comment section!  I’d love some new ideas.

As a treat for those of you who would like to make a change towards healthier living I’m giving away a copy of Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean Diet Recharged or The Eat Clean Diet for Family and Kids depending on your preference this week.    I love Tosca’s books and always find they contain a wonderful blend of knowledge and inspiration.  I also love that she advocates eating 6 times/day.  I can always eat!

In order to enter the contest all you have to do is leave a comment below stating what your goals for health and wellness this week are.  I’ll take entries until Saturday January 1 at 7pm.  Once the contest is closed I’ll randomly select a winner and announce it on the blog.

Good luck and welcome to ‘Wellness on Wednesdays’!

2 responses to “Resolutions

  1. Oooooo no I missed this! But looks like no one has entered yet! Sooooooo ill give this a shot! I plan on arranging my eating so that I’m eating mostly fruits and veggies! Cutting out all snacks! And starting to run again! That’s my plan for wellness week

  2. Hey Sarah!

    Thanks for the interest. The prize is yours! Send me an email with your information (and the book you want) and I’ll get it off to you asap.

    Have a wonderful day and thanks for joining Wellness on Wednesdays.

Leave a reply

