Last minute entertaining idea

If your family is anything like our family your holiday gatherings don’t end on the 25th of December.  We continue to celebrate the season well into the new year. Today my family gathered at our home to watch some football, celebrate the end of the fantasy season and recover from turkey.

Skor Apple Dip is a delicious, quick and tasty treat.  There are tons of recipes on the internet for slightly different versions.  This is our take on a favorite treat.

Skor Apple Dip

  • 1 pkg softened light cream cheese
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/2 c brown sugar (lightly packed)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 2 skor bars
  • Granny Smith apples cut into wedges
Instructions:
  1. Cut the cream cheese into 4-5 chunks.
  2. Dump into a food processor bowl.
  3. Add sugars and vanilla.
  4. Break the skor bars into pieces and add to container.
  5. Pulse until you reach the desired consistency.
  6. Throw it in the refrigerator until cool.
Extra information:  Sometimes I make this for an evening snack and save it in the fridge over a couple of days.   It’s nice if you want a treat at night without too many calories.  I serve it with Granny Smith apples because of the tartness. Apples that are too sweet tend to overwhelm this dip.   Before my husband gave me my food processor I did make this with a hand held mixer.  I just crushed the skor bars in a ziploc bag with my rolling pin before I added them to the mixture.  It worked out just as well.  Enjoy!

3 responses to “Last minute entertaining idea

  1. Oh that sounds delicious! And, skor bars are one of my favorite candy bars! I will have to try this! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  2. If you like skor bars you’ll love this dip. I hope you and your family enjoy this Karen. We love it!

  3. Pingback: More Random Thoughts From The Couch « From Ministry to Motherhood

Leave a reply

