Christmas Shortbread

I’m all about shortbread.  Since it’s a snow day (again!) and I had a pound of butter sitting on my counter waiting to be turned into cookies of some sort, I decided to make some.  My Mother has an amazing recipe for rolled shortbread that she cuts into pretty sculpted shapes.  These are not that cookie.   I love her cookies but alas I am busy.  With a 14 month old running around my house wanting to explore and discover everything, I don’t have time to roll, cut and re-roll dough. It’s a little too time consuming right now.   Last year (while busy with a newborn) I found this recipe in the Food Network Magazine (December 2009) 50 Holiday Cookies pull out section.

This shortbread is what some people call pan shortbread (likely due to the fact that it’s cooked in a pan!) is seriously easy.  All you do is mix the ingredients per the recipe, plop it in an 8″ square pan, refrigerate for 30 minutes, bake at 300 for 1 hour and you’re done.  It’s delightful, efficient and is a nice addition to a Christmas party tray.

Here’s the recipe in case you’re interested.  I enjoyed one this afternoon and I have to say they are as good as I remember.

Classic Shortbread

I’ve doubled the recipe here to make 2 pans.  One to eat and one to freeze or give away.  I always make a double batch as it’s more convenient for me to leave out a box of butter instead of pulling out two sticks.  I’m lazy that way.

  • 1 pound of softened butter
  • 1/2 c white sugar
  • 1/2 c icing sugar
  • 4 c flour
  • 2 tsp salt

Beat the butter and sugars together until fluffy.  Whisk the flour and salt together in a separate bowl.  Add to the wet mixture and combine without beating too much.  Divide mixture in half.  Press into 2 buttered square pans.  Score the top of each pan into desire shape (ie: square, diamonds, triangles).  Place in the fridge for 30 minutes.  Bake for one hour (give or take) at 300.

Slice along the scored lines.  The original recipe says to cool then slice.  I reverse that.  I find better success at cutting while hot so they are a little more forgiving.  Be very careful while slicing them though as they do break (hot or cold) if you go too quickly.

Additional information: I will trim around the outsides of the outside pieces as I’m obsessive like that.  I want each square to look almost the same.  Today I put half of a candied cherry at the top of each square.   In the past I’ve put colored sugar.  Plain is fine as well.   Before you make these make sure your butter is extremely soft.  The softer the butter, the better the shortbread.

2 responses to “Christmas Shortbread

  1. This shortbread looks amazing. Nice recipe

Leave a reply

