An excellent example

After reading the assigned text this morning over a cup of coffee I had to ask myself what it would have been like to be contacted by an Angel.   Can you imagine the shock?  Can you imagine the fear?  What would you do?

“Mary was greatly troubled at his words and wondered what kind of greeting this might be.” Luke 1:29, NIV

I’ve heard this text many times.  Today this really struck me.  Mary was greatly troubled at his words.  To be honest with you I’m kind of glad she’s troubled.   If an Angel came to my house to have a little discussion I honestly I think, like Mary I would be highly suspicious.  I’d want to know what God had planned and I would be very nervous to be the one centred out.  As the Angel explains what will happen, Mary listens.  She also questions and she ponders what is asked of her. In the end she takes a very trusting step.

“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” Luke 1: 38 NIV

Mary is an excellent example of how we should be in our faith.   When we look at this young woman we see what a relationship with God is like.  There is conversation.  There are questions and ultimately, even when there is a little doubt we push through with trust.

This woman shows us in this text how things should be as we wait.  We aren’t meant to blindly follow God.  We’re meant to be in relationship with God.   A relationship is communication.  A relationship means connection.  A relationship requires conversation, trust and a desire to push through the hard times.

This Advent as life gets busy we can’t forget that this is all about relationship.   After all we are waiting for God to burst into the world and force relationship on us.   That relationship is our greatest gift, our greatest joy.

 

Leave a reply